You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT: STEEM: Game Development: Opening doors... discussion

in #steemit7 years ago

Very interesting initiave, however, I feel I must point out java and javascript aren't really alike. About the only thing they have in common is the "java" in the name.

Sort:  

Yes, I am very much aware. Which is why I listed them both. I actually coded in Java the first time on Netscape Gold when the first VM people were using for Java was still in beta.

It was so much in beta I had it doing things that should be impossible. :) Like giving 3 points of a triangle... drawing lines between them and having it also produce a 4th line and some mysterious point never specified. Those were the days. So yeah, I had someone push Java at me when it first came out.

Now I've watched more and more things getting disabled in Java in browsers, and I've had to wrestle with memory issues and other java issues. I personally do not like java at all at this point. I think Oracle very much dropped the ball when they acquired Java. They were well positioned in the market and they flubbed it.

So like I said... I'll code in Java if I have to. Yet I'd rather not. In Unity it'll preferably be C#. the other options are UnityScript (Javascript variant), and Boo (Python Variant).

Honestly, I interpreted it as you saying they were kind of the same, glad we got it sorted and... that far back? I think that at the time javascript was still supposed to be a script language for the web to accompany java. Amazing how much it diverged from its original path.

And yeah, java at this point is pretty dead on the web for end users, the ones still using it are business with some service they haven't bothered to updated to something a bit better supported in current browsers.

And a lot of that business side stuff ends up broken as browser updates remove support for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59276.59
ETH 2464.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44