Steemit curating. Dealing with retaliation for flagging plagiarism.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Just a heads up guys! I was curating Russian part of Steemit (#ru) and stumbled upon a blatant plagiarism to the level of spamming.
I flagged it of course: in my mind there's a difference when people use the platform to exercise and develop creativity or share ideas and do crowd funding, and when they copy and paste someone else's post several times! There is a difference.
In response to my flagging I got a message from the flagged account and a mass downvote... wtf?

20180129_001806.png

Steemians, here's the list of the people that went back on my profile (along with that individual) and retaliated against curating. I'm not sure what else can I do at this point except try to give you heads up.

Screenshot_20180129-001327.png

Screenshot_20180129-001353.png

I want to be clear I'm not seeking to get even. Just please be aware of the retaliation. This makes curation very difficult.

EDITED: to add #steemitabuse

Sort:  

If they are plagiarizing report them to steemcleaners and let them take care of it. That's what I do when I find plagiarizers. Sometimes they give people warnings. Sometimes they remove all rewards from plagiarized posts. They do a great job to clean up abusers. https://steemcleaners.org/abuse-report/

Ah, sorry. You beat me with the Steem cleaners link.

No apologies needed! Always good to offer people help when you can.

Thank you guys! So glad to know that!

Sorry to hear this, I'm afraid that steemit has set itself up a bit to allow this sort of bullying. Hopefully, they will lose interest. Perhaps report them, so the big guys can take care of it? https://steemcleaners.org/abuse-report/

This is true. I had gotten downvoted a comment in the past that my score went into the negatives. It felt impossible to get back up. Fetch flagging is trying to ruin Steemit by making people want intermediaries.

You are right I do feel I wish there was someone to look at this... 🙁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08