Upvoting like crazy? Be careful !!!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Have fun upvoting after HF19?

Enjoy watching rewards growing up?
I was too. Even not doing always at 100%, by the end of the day have noted the vote power is exausted just below 45%
Well, not a big deal, I thought....it recovers by +20% per day.
So in ~2.5 days it will be back to 100%. Right?

Not really so !


Little calculation showed me, that to growth from 45% back to 100% takes 96 hours! That is FOUR full days!
So be very careful, when you go crazy while upvoting. Or you may end into situation, when a VERY very good post, which you sure would be happy to support at your maximum potention, at full 100%, may take to wait much much longer , then you want. Yes you can wait, up to 7 days, but the downside of this is, that your final curation rewards will be not as high, as it could possibly be.
Rule of thumb is simple - every 10 upvotes at FULL power takes 24 hours, or ONE full day to recover. (at the maximum possible level at any given moment)
20 upvotes will need two days.
40 upvotes - four days
70 upvotes - a one complete week, full seven days!
Just keep this in mind.
And scale down, whenever you think it will be suitable. Just like this:

Scaling is available only once user accumulates 500+ of steem power. If you have 500 SP, once you click the "^" upvote icon, a small scaling slider window pops up ( like in the picture above). Then you select the wanted level of upvoting ( marked as step "2" in my picture, in red, with arrow). And only then you must click the final upvoting buton ( marked as step "3")

P.S. You think it may be useful for others? For the newbies? Then - resteem ! :)

Sort:  

That's 100% true. Some people (including me) started giving votes like crazy thinking that now we are generating very good payout just by upvoting. But I slowly realized that the payout I was getting for my upvote started decreasing. Then I read more about the HF19 and its affect on the votes. So, I put break on my upvote for a while.👍👍👍

Haa haa... Finally someone is spreading proper knowledge about how upvote is going to work after Hardfork 19. We can already see that after initial boost up the votes power has started fading and it will keep decreasing for next couple of days. Good share @onealfa. 👍

Thank you for you report. It is encouraging. Maybe I'll do some more

Sure @onealfa. You should give it a try again. Your voice is impressive. Do share the video on steemit once it is ready. I am following you so will get to watch it first hand and give feedback🙂

I upvoted and resteemed you, because everyone needs to read this. However, what @cryptocurrencyb said: I put a break on my upvote .. I hope not everyone is doing that, because Steemit thrives on upvotes and newcomers are stimulated by this when they create their first content.

I have been on Steemit for a couple of weeks and my voting power has never gone below 88%. My voting pattern has not changed but a couple of hours ago i checked and was shocked to see that it was at 48%. Feels like my life has slowed down in a single day !

The reason it drains off so fast is that after hardfork (2 days ago) every full-power upvoted consumes 2% of your voting power. Before hard fork it used to take only 0.5% per vote. So currently your power is droping 4 times faster. The solution is available though, you can control this by scaling down the voting power level. However this is possible only for those , who got 500+ of steem power on their accounts

Good info buddy :) I upvoted to the moon the last few days so steem is now at 21.49% soon as it recovers I will upvote bud.

Thanks, I just learnt something new and helpful.

I have one question. Does voting power restore exponentially or is it restored once in 24 hrs?

I am not so sure on this. What I believe - it restores linearly (possibly every minute, or every few minutes, to make a +20% final growth within every 24 hours passed

Very useful article!

Great article. Followed and upvoted, but not as much since I'm poor now from not realizing just how quickly your power goes down! 😂 Nice explanation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59148.41
ETH 2526.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48