Posting of youtube videos without comment

in #steemit8 years ago

In the early days of steemit (a week or so ago ha ha)

It may have been acceptable, even beneficial, to post a youtube video without any explanation, description, or comment as to why it might be worth my time to watch.

But now, since there are already way more posts than I can review in detail, I think that I will not be up voting any posts of a youtube (or vimeo) that do not contain a minimum description/recommendation no matter how interesting the video might turn out to be.

Sort:  

I feel this way about any post that's just a video, image or link with no description... Heck, I might even start downvoting those...

I know what you mean, but don't downvote, there could be other reasons why someone wouldn't write a paragraph. They're shy about their spelling and grammar, they can't speak English. Or they're just feeling out the platform, I follow this account that just posted motorcross videos and now they're commenting on them as well.

In my humble opinion, I think the downvote should be saved for obvious fakers, spammers and trolls; just ignore those vids without a paragraph if you don't like them. Or even reward them if they've made you aware of content that you wouldn't have been and you've enjoyed it.

Let's encourage these people :-)

CG

The downvote was more off-the-cuff sarcasm than a legitimate decision. It's very, very rare that I vote content down on any platform.

I'm not sure I understand the logic. If I post a video of something that I enjoy or find interesting without commentary, how does that decrease it's worth? You wouldn't have found it otherwise and the the network effect of Steemit should promote it if you find it interesting. I guess I understand a downvote if you were offended or attacked in some way, but if you are indifferent, why would you not skim to the next article.

I agree. There are ton's of other forums and places that encourage this type of post, just because it brings new content. Downvoting or complaining about "reposts from elsewhere" seems a little out of date.

If you can't tell us why you enjoy, then why post it. If I want to browse random YouTube videos then guess what, I will go to Youtube.

You can't take the time to give a one or two sentence description or recommendation? (so I have a better idea as to whether or not it is in my interest to watch it) Then your post is kind of bordering on spam, don't you think? People will post many links like that hoping to earn occasional up votes at virtually no effort from them. It is a kindness and courtesy to readers of your post to value their time.

We can agree to disagree on this. If I find that a particular person tends to post things that I like, in many cases I don't need anything more than a title. Just because something has a short description doesn't necessarily mean it's meaningful or anything more helpful than clickbait. I guess there are times when it's not worth debating something.

Good point.

While anyone can share a video, I feel it adds ALOT more value to the share to include even a brief description of WHY it's being shared:

  • what benefits watching it would pose to others in exchange for their time invested
  • what impact its had on the person sharing and why they feel it's been of importance to them and may be to others

This really personalizes a share, and provides some good reasons as to why it's be worth watching, rather than just expecting people to watch

Yes, I agree, unless it is labelled as an original piece of work by someone who already has a known presence on Steemit. I would love to be able to reward original videographers and directors, but it will probably need to fit that requirement for me to review it and trust that it isn't re-posted from elsewhere.

If an original video author isn't willing to describe their video with at least a paragraph then they really haven't invested time in the post so why should we invest time in it?

There are also reposts of articles from other sites, with no introduction or commentary to add value. I feel that it may be better to explain why you posted something here, in addition to referencing/copying something from another source.

I see you downvote many youtube videos, explanation or not.
Do you just hate youtube videos or what?

I don't remember doing that. Link please.

It was deleted, probably because of the downvote.

"I see you downvote many youtube videos"

If you read again my OP, you will see that I merely said that I would not up vote, not that I would down vote. And I have NOT down voted any youtube videos.

downvote many?
Have they all been deleted?
I am expecting an apology and for you to be more careful and considerate of other people's reputations in future.

I agree with you completely. I have posted a few videos but definitely take at least a little time to lay out why I thought they were worth sharing. Without a description I might as well just be browsing through youtube itself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29