-EZSTEEM UPDATE 1.1- as EZ as it gets All-in-one Steem Miner/Node Setup Script [Windows VM / Linux]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


See my previous post on how to install and run EZSTEEM on your machine!
https://steemit.com/allinone/@omotherhen/ezsteem-suite-1-0-the-ez-way-to-setup-your-steem-miner-node-in-a-linux-vm-windows-compatible
To view the source code click here: https://github.com/omotherhen/EZSTEEM


Patch Notes


  • EZSTEEM is now at version 1.1 RELEASE, all known bugs with V1.0 have been patched
  • EZSTEEM Installations should work regardless of directory now, script knows of it's current working directory
  • Updated to compile Steem V0.12.2 Hardfork

VIEWING AND EDITING YOUR MINER KEYS


  • Currently if you follow the above guide to a T and use default installation directory, enter in these commands to reveal your private key [DO NOT SHOW TO ANYONE ELSE YOUR PRIVATE KEY!]
    cd /var/EZSTEEM/steem/programs/steemd/witness_node_data_dir && sudo nano config.ini

  • This will let you edit or view your miner accounts and private keys, you can see them at a line that says:
    miner = ["YOURMINERNAME","YOURPRIVATEKEY"]

  • If you want to mine with your Steemit account, simply replace YOURMINERNAME with your steemit account name, and YOURPRIVATEKEY with your Steemit account active private key.


CLOSING AN SSH SESSION WHILE KEEPING THE MINER RUNNING


Courtesy of my fellow contributor @gikitiki:
If you used the default installation path of /var/EZSTEEM, try this command:

screen -dmSL myTest /var/EZSTEEM/steem/programs/steemd/steemd

The -dmSL means : detach with a new screen, allow a session name (myTest in this case, you can use whatever) and log stderr and stdout at ~/screenlog.0

You should now be able to exit your PuTTY session leaving it running in the background.

When you log back in again, use this command to bring it to the foreground.

screen -x myTest

You can also check the log using your favorite text editor or just watch it with tail

tail -f ~screenlog.0


UPCOMING IN EZSTEEM 1.2


  • An auto-update function for the EZSTEEM script itself
  • An interactive editing option for editing your miner config files such as add/remove/edit straight from EZSTEEM
  • Auto transfer of mined VESTS to a main wallet of choice

Like what you see? Please FOLLOW for future updates!

Support your fellow developers!

Sort:  

Awesome... I've been waiting to be able to start mining. Sooo... going to jump in on this - it will be my first time mining anything, so I hope it's as EZ as you say :-)

If it's not as EZ as it is, let me know and I will try my hardest to make it so!

Haha, thanks man.

Awesome content this seems pretty EZ thanks man!

You really know your stuff. Looking forward to what you put out next!

FOLLOW for future updates? or follow for the-future? I'm confuse.

I should definitely try it out - on Windows :)

Hi there, is there any one beeing an expert with config.ini, I would like to set up multiple host, all going to one steemit account .... but I find it very difficult to find the info about this kind of configuration, thanks for your help.

On each host, edit the config file. Look for the lines that start with

miner =
witness =

Lets assume that your steemit account is "bob" and the private key is "abcdefghijklmn"
update those two lines that you found above with

miner = "bob", "abcdefghijklmn"
witness = "bob"

Do that on each node.

WARNING : Be careful with this approach. If someone were to hack into your node, and get to your config file, they will now have your miner name and your private key. Using a different account and then transferring it to your primary account is safer.

Ok, but I read somewhere it's not advisable to have twice the same witness on multiple node ...

That is correct. For all but one of the nodes, make sure that the witness line is commented out using the # sign. Example : # witness

I want to understand more, I am a developper, so I think I can be able to understand .... What is your source of knowledge ?

@artakan For some reason, I can not reply to your following post

I want to understand more, I am a developper, so I think I can be able to understand .... What is your source of knowledge ?

Our source of knowledge is all of the awesome steemers in steemit. Once you start picking up on the keywords you want to search for, you start narrowing down the posts that are the most helpful. I hope that helps. For your questions, searching for cloning nodes, steemd, witness, miner and cli_wallet should get you very close to what you are looking for.

And also I do not think you can transfer mining STEEM from one account to another as it is Steem Power ... or can you ?

With the cli_wallet, you can transfer the mined STEEMPOWER to a primary account. @omotherhen and I are working on making it a little simpler in EZSTEEM. (v1.2 should have this) The command you want to research on cli_wallet is set_withdraw_vesting_route. I am not very familiar with the command yet, I can only point you in the correct direction.

Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67066.21
ETH 3093.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75