Powering Up and Doubling DownsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I did it.

I'm Powered Up!

megamush.jpg
I converted all my Steem and SBD to Steem Power.

OK, I'm no whale, so maybe the mega-mushroom isn't the most appropriate Mario power-up to illustrate my point. But I took a big step, more a matter of resolve than reserves at this point. Still, it represents a big shift in mindset - so it's big.

I am focused on Steemit. I am committed to this platform.

Why Steemit?

  • Steemit turns reader attention directly into cryptocurrency income
  • Steemit offers a uniquely attractive way to build an audience
  • Steemit provides powerful SEO advantages
  • Steemit offers unique opportunities for platform participation
  • even more reasons...

Why Power Up?

Honestly for anyone planning to maximize the Steem platform, powering up is the best investment you can make.

I mean sure, I kept a couple SBD just in case I want to promote a post or something. But I have my buy orders set on outside exchanges for some more Steem. And I took the Steemit rewards I've received so far and locked them up in Steem Power

...because right now - it just seems crazy not to.

warrior.jpg

Steem Power Benefits:

  • Vested Steem Power is the gift that keeps on giving - Steem Power empowers you, but you never lose your Steem.
  • Voting power offers direct economic benefits you can distribute as you see fit (to others, or yourself!) - Steem Power is the monetary balance that your voting strength is drawn from. Even while voting strength dissipates and regenerates over time, Steem Power remains constant.
  • Network influence increases with your Steem Power - over time, the power of community votes (your vote!) shapes what content gets rewarded and therefore what content gets created on the network - so, your vote indirectly shapes the content available on the network. More Steem Power means more editorial influence.
  • You can get Steem Power by buying Steem on an exchange, or by simply entertaining Steemit users with your posts (and getting proportionately rewarded per upvote). This ensures that those invested in the platform - whether by work or by money - have the ultimate say over the future of the platform.
  • You can always power it down (if you must) - just not all at once.

Goals & Accountability

Because it's true that all the goal-setting in the world doesn't compare to the motivational power of the pain of public humiliation, I have a few goals I want to share publicly.

I established these near-term goals to outline my next concrete steps in renewing my commitment to this platform.

Over the next 30 days:

  1. I will be posting every day (twice a day, conditions permitting)
  2. All of my posts will be 100% Powered Up
  3. The posts will range from 300 to 3000 words, averaging about 1000.
  4. Every weekend I'll post a roundup of my articles for the week, with individual and cumulative word counts.

By this time next year:

  • My family and I will be headed to Steemfest 2018!

In the near future, I will no doubt set up more long-term, one-year goals for my work. For now, this offers a juicy enough carrot to keep me going.

HOW I WISH I could be joining @hilarski and other Steemit pals in Lisbon this year!

But the way our finances are right now, a trip like that takes a lot of planning - more than we can do at present. Sitting a world away right now, it's hard to imagine taking a trip to Europe - certainly not more than one European trip for our family per year! We've done an important one this year already. Next year, we will do another.

I will be at Steemfest 2018, no matter where it is held.
By then, my family will include 1 or 2 more Steemians who will be there with me!

borabora.jpg
Bali and Tahiti sound nice, if anyone is taking requests!

I hope to see you there!

UVFRS.gif

Sort:  

Janitor unit approves of this post. Much information to benefit minnow units. Janitor units upvotes units who give data to new human units. Janitor unit has completed mopping @olyup units floors and resteemed post. Janitor unit will follow unit. Much pine sol.

Hello please kindly like my post too thanks
https://steemit.com/advice/@romantic4/dream-big

good work i also converted SBD into steem and then steem power -- good to meet you here -and am now following you in support

I was just thinking about doing something similar, looks like great minds think alike :)

I like your positivity. Great entry point with today's prices. Good luck on your daily posts. Let's see Steem climb to double digits by next year.

I double down alllllll day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74