Steemvention #1 - Your Help Is Needed!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I will talk about why I need your help in a second, first I want to welcome you to:

Steemvention #1!

You might ask yourself, what the heck is Steemvention? Well it’s a series where I highlight a challenge that (I think) Steemit is facing and then present an idea of how I think we might be able to address the issue. Of course I would love to see you join the conversation in the comments below! So lets invent something awesome...



Today's Topic: Steempower



Steempower allows you to “Tipp” people for creating great, valuable content. Proportional to how often you use it on a daily basis, your effective Steempower devalues. This is already great since it sort of limits the usage us Steempower, yet it’s still infinite, as it recharges over time. Potentially leading to Steempower being used to easily?



Does the current Steempower model go far enough?



Picture this, you see a street musician, he is super talented and you want to support him. So you give him 5$. This 5$ goes out of your pocket into his pocket. Before you gave him the money, you decided that you love his music and you want to support him. You know that whatever you give him, you will no longer have. But it doesn’t feel like a loss to you because A) you received great music and B) you helped him.



Could we apply such a model to Steemit?



Envision today's Steempower as a container, the more Steem you invest into that container the more capacity it has (so far not much new here). 

Increasing the size of the container doesn’t fill it with power though. It can only be filled by getting it from other people through engaging with your content. Now that Steempower is a truly scarce resource people will not give it away easily. People are forced to create valuable content for their fellow members.

Now when somebody votes, the container size remains the same, yet it contains less and less Steem, as the Steempower is literally going from one user to another.

Now it’s your turn, do you think Steempower is great the way it is, or does it need major overhaul?



If you like my content make sure to leave a Comment, Vote or follow me at @oliver.rivers, I appreciate you being here.

Sort:  

I am not sure what I would prefer, but I know the system will change a few times until steemit reaches a critical mass. We have to consider that at some point even steemit will be filled with people who just consume and not produce. So if steem power only goes out (by voting) and never comes back (because they do not create content or do not care to re-steem content) you condem them to just read, and they can't upvote anymore good content. At least that is how I understood this proposal. Also let's say today I see a very good musician, I give him all my 5$, and the day after I see another one. I would like to give the second one also money but I have none left. So even if he is good he will not get any money from me. With the current system it would split between both. I guess the current system is not perfect, but it is ok. Also since this is still the beta phase, people try to connect with others as fast as possible to take advantage of the fact that they are part of the first wave on this platform. You know.. follow for follow.. upvote for upvote.. I think that will even out in time.

Very good point, haven't fully considered that perspective in my thought process.

As steemit is still in beta I am sure a lot will happen in the next months. Looking forward seeing those changes. I heard it has already came a long way.

That is actually a good idea but i dont it is possible or even if it would be a sustentable system in the long term. Although steemit already allow you to do tgat and you can send SDB ou Steem to other users helping them that way. And in that case it works like You said. It comes from your pocket to theirs. It is one of the options on the wallet. 😁

Very true, totally missed that... something about this Steempower thing is still bothering me, let's see if I can get to the bottom of it. Thanks for sharing.

No worries man 😉 anytime

Good question, only time will tell, since hardfork 19... the reward pool is dropping like a rock right now and people are reporting 40% downfall on posts 😮😀

@stackin, thank you for those insights. 40% downfall in earnings? You have any post you can reference on that? I definitely think the idea of Steempower is great, yet needs some refinement.

It's basically a good concept but I think the problem is with the possibility of upvoting your own content. With that option available to you why would you upvote others and with that steem power is made even more scarce.

Good point yet, you can only upvote your own content once and who says that this feature should remain there forever? I like the idea of Steempower being something where I really think about, did this post, article, video comment entertain me or give me value. Sometimes I feel like upvotes are just thrown around ala I vote you and you vote me.

Let's keep thinking.

Well everything here is still in its infancy and most of users don't fully understand everything involved (me included). I see a lot of problems in the current system but also a lot of potential.

Congratulations @oliver.rivers! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @oliver.rivers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73