A Kenyan Child's Plea to the world. Steemit can help!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

              KENYAN STREET CHILDREN 

        Tough life, hunger, beatings, stealing, lack of clothing, epidemics and cursing are among the many things that define urban street life for many unprivileged children. None of these children wished to be born in the streets but it happened against their wish.

(Children on the streets of Nairobi imbibing gas from glue bottles)


        Some lost their parents and were forced to the streets to make ends meet. Some street children can't even recognize their parents let alone remember their parents if they have any. As a matter of fact they group themselves together to form their own little families and watch after each other.


       One day I was moved to tears when I saw a group of street children going into the makeshift tent with some left over food from a nearby restaurant. As I followed them behind I saw how organized and united they were. They  sat down in a circle and put the left over food in the middle and started eating as a family.

(Sweet street child showing compassion to starving puppies)


       What caught my attention was when an  old boy in the group scooped the food, put some in his own  mouth and then stretched his hand to feed the younger one next to him even though he was eating by himself. In this case I saw love in action. It was undeniable that love is powerful. 

(Street child after sniffing glue for a long period)

         I went to the nearby supermarket and bought 5 loaves of bread and brought it to them. They were very grateful. As I left I kept thinking to myself what if these children were to go to school? What if they had the opportunity that other children had. What if they had enough food on their table?. What if their had the privilege of living a normal life like other children?


        I hope that with steemit I will be able to support some of these children the best I can by putting them to school and giving them a normal life and dignity. Below is a youtube of a young Kenyan boy speaking fluent english and expressing very clearly what his perceived need of the hour is: Opportunity, not a hand out. If I understand the vision of Steemit it would encompass the poverty stricken and needless to say unbanked souls of the world. There must be a way for the Steemit community to outreach right into the heart of the poverty in Africa and funnel knowledge, education, and resources via the blockchain, minus so many greedy hands that get in the way of help every reaching the ones who need it. 


     

Sort:  

powerful message and plea..may be it would be worth you looking into any orphanages for him and his brothers , that way he could get some schooling.
I hope some help from somewhere comes his way

Its our hope that my husband and my family in Kenya can bring the Steemit opportunity to the poverty stricken and unbanked people of Kenya and other impoverished African countries . Thank you for your sweet thoughts of sympathy.

I hope that thousands of steemers see this post and upvote you! I have a feeling that steem could make a huge difference in these kids lives. Imagine if these kids got started posting art or stories and making enough money to feed and clothe themselves. As the boy said on the video, all they need is an oppurtunity! I will be watching ,following your post and am willing to contribute time and money to this cause. I am going to go find the name of that Indian entrepreneur who was giving away free phones and see if I can get in touch with him and secure an allotment of phones for Kenya.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57164.70
ETH 2987.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27