The Importance of your Steem VOTING POWER % - Just my two cents

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Dear New People of Steemit: Stop Voting on everything and let your Steem "Voting Power" build up to 100 %.

If you do not let your Voting Power restore (by not voting) your upVotes will be worth $0.

Everytime you upVote a post or a comment your Voting Power drops by 2 %. If you are relatively new here on Steemit once you go below 80 % your upVote is worth almost nothing.

It took me a while to learn this but it is very important. Whether you have the original delegated 27 Steem Power or 1,000 Steem Power or 100,000 Steem Power you need to take a break from voting and let your Steem Voting Power build back up to 100 %.....

To know what your Steem Voting power is Log into http://www.Steemd.com/@username (replace username with your actual Steemit User Name) and you will see something that looks like this in the Left hand corner:

Screen Shot 2017-11-24 at 3.33.51 PM.png

It takes about 24 hours (1 full day) to recover 20 % of your VOTING POWER. So you can see I let mine drop to 71 % - it will take me a day and a half to get back to 100 % where my upVote will then be worth 10 cents.

Try to get your Steem Power up to at least 500 Steem and you will be able to reward people with about 5 cents when your Steem Voting Power is at 100 %.

I try to keep my Steem Power between 90%-100 % so that my Vote is actually worth Something.

If I vote 5 times a day my Power will drop from 100 % to 90 % and my reward will be closer to 10 cents.

At 1,000 Steem Power my upVote was worth about 9 cents .... at 500 Steem Power it was worth 4.5 cents .... at 250 Steem power it was worth 2 cents ... at 125 Steem power worth 1 penny. Less than 100 Steem power is not much at all or zero.

Just my two cents ....

Some believe that the phrase "Just my 2 cents" originates in betting card games, such as poker. In these games, one must make a small bet, or ante, before beginning play. Thus, the phrase makes an analogy between entering the game and entering a conversation. However, there is no documentary evidence of this being the origin of the idiom, so it is merely speculation. Other likely origins are that "my two pennies worth" is derived from the much older 16th Century English expression, "a penny for your thoughts", possibly a sarcastic response to receiving more opinion than was wanted "I said a penny for your thoughts, but I got two pennies' worth". There is also some belief that the idiom may have its origins in the early cost of postage in England, the "twopenny post", where two pennies was the normal charge of sending a letter containing one's words and thoughts or feelings to someone.

via: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/My_two_cents

"Two cents" and its variations may also be used in place of the noun "opinion" or the verb phrase "state [subject's] opinion", e.g. "You had to put your two cents in, didn't you?" or "But that’s just my two cents."

This expression is also often used at the end of a statement, e.g. "Just my two cents."

Sort:  

I suggest to use https://steemworld.org/@offgridlife and see your current vote power. It shows the time until it is 100%.

Or http://www.Steemnow.com ... Yes - Thanks

good info to share @offgridlife - I ignored your advice and upvoted your post. How do we see what our vote is worth when it is less than 0.01 SP?

With less than .01 SP it is worth Zero ....

interesting, I found that when several people with 0.00 SP upvote a posy then the posters upvoted value goes up 0.01, so my guess is that in the early stages a person progresses from a vote worth 0.001 to 0.002 and so on upwards - just my two cents worth - I'm still trying to learn how this thing operates :)

Yeah ... sometimes I have 20 people upVote my post and it still worth nothing ... all it takes is one voter to have more than 100 Steem Power and then you get a penny.

it is actually not worth nothing, its just to small to show
but sometimes if mostly your vote shows as 0.00 it is actually 0.0005 or something
So all those votes that you think are nothing are fractions of a penny

And when you move over 500SP you can split up your vote so instead of voting 10 times 4,5 cents per day you can give 20 times 2,25 or 40 times 1,25 etc
that is why you get those percentages next to a vote sometimes

At 1,000 Steem Power mine is worth about 9 cents .... at 500 Steem Power it was worth 4.5 cents .... at 250 Steem power it was worth 2 cents ... at 125 Steem power worth 1 penny. less than 100 Steem power is not much at all or zero.

thanks, looks like have a ways to go yet to it the 0.001 mark - great article and thanks for the info

Just keep plugging away. Aim for that 1st 100 steem power then the next then the next ... before you know it you will have 1,000 - I also use EarnCrypto to earn some extra Steem .... https://www.earncrypto.com/earn-free-steem-dollars/?r=94125

That's new too... okay will check it out. Thanks a bunch 😊

And Thanks for the Resteem - Much appreciated.

Such a useful post!

Well, you say that the small power members, like me, don't have too many chances here.

Not at all .. you are at 40 Steem Power so almost half way to $100 ... where your vote will be worth 1 penny... then you can upVote your posts about 10 times a day and make 10 cents.... it's like compounding interest.. the 1st $100 is the most difficult but once you get there it takes less time to reach 1000 Steem power and 10 cents per upVote (or $1 a day) ... I also use EarnCrypto to earn some extra Steem .... https://www.earncrypto.com/earn-free-steem-dollars/?r=94125

Thank you very much! you gave me very important information ... and motivation.

Hang in there .... just keep posting quality original content... I do well with my local photography and art work

Yes, I see. Thanks for advice!

Advice needed. My voting power is back to 100% but when I voted it still regestered at 0.00. Any suggestions appreciated by this newbie

@offgridlife I just wanted to swim by and say Hi. @echowhale delivered your up vote.
I gave you a 90.00% up vote. Feel free to come visit @echowhale anytime, send between 0.20 - 1.00 and receive a generous up vote.

Thanks 90 % was great !

Thanks for this, it was simple and easy to understand.
I'm such a noob, that I didn't realised how any of this works yet. To be honest I just wanted to search for diferent stuff, from all the facebook spam, and post whatever I feel like aswell. But it has been 2 months, I'll start to pay attention now.
I'll upvote your post with my 0% power vote now 😁

Ha - great. Glad it helps

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65160.59
ETH 3545.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43