Curation Rewards : How do you earn more than .001 SP ?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So I have been testing a few different Strategies when it comes to Steemit Curation Rewards. I noticed that I only ever make .001 SP (Steem power and Zero Steem Dollars) as a Reward even when I upvote a "good" Post that goes on to make $500 +

I was confused by this so I started to do a little research and learned that it makes a huge difference "WHEN" you upvote a Post. I also found that I earned nothing, zero SP (Steem Power or Steem Dollars) when I RESTEEM a post (unless I have also upvoted that post). Last week I tried upvoting what I thought was a very good post within the first 15 minutes of a new post and made practically nothing, then I tried upvoting between 15 minutes and 30 minutes after a "good" New Post and earned very little and then I tried upvoting a "good" post after 30 minutes and earned almost nothing ..... So what is the trick ?

I really don't know since I have to wait a few days before the results of my tests show up in my Curation Rewards. But I think the problem is that I let my Steem Power % drop too low and as a result was earning almost nothing for my Curation Efforts. So I waited all weekend to let me Steem Power get back to 100 % - You can check your Steem Power % here:

http://www.steemd.com
http://www.steemnow.com

Enter your Steemit User name.

Today I will get some results from my various Curation Reward Tests from last Monday so stay Tuned for updates.

I only learned about Steem Power % last week (Thanks to @DeanLogic) so I spent the weekend "not voting" so that my Steem Power % could get back to 100 %. I found that I lose 2 % Steem Power with each Vote and it takes 1 hour to regenerate 1 % of my Steem Power back .... So if you are down to 30 % Steem Power Voting % it will take you 70 hours (3 days) to get back to 100 %

For me I am thinking that there are just too many Factors and Variables in Curation Rewards and I will just go back to blogging.

Image Source: i.imgur.com/IoJfERd.png

Sort:  

I only learned about Steem Power % last week (Thanks to @DeanLogic) so I spent the weekend "not voting" so that my Steem Power % could get back to 100 %. I found that I lose 2 % Steem Power with each Vote and it takes 1 hour to regenerate 1 % of my Steem Power back .... So if you are down to 30 % Steem Power Voting % it will take you 70 hours (3 days) to get back to 100 %

rumors say that when you are one of the early upvoters of a post and then the post you voted on as one of the first, gets upvoted t by more people with a massive account.. that bring automatically more votes because they are often followed by people who use bots that auto-vote on the posts those people with massive accounts vote on (in the hope to make earnings from them, and don't give anything about the post) then you earn more of the 25% pay out that that post makes, because you ''discovered'' it first.... the autovoters btw are in my eyes completely useles here on the platform they just autovote 0.1 or 1% each time not even checking out the post... (check out my latest post for example) and are only here for personal gain .. but do add to the activity of the platform.... I think you must not check out about how much you can earn by voting on a post. If you vote on a post you must believe that the post earns your vote so you have to read the post and value it yourself and then give it a reward that you believe is worth it... If you do so, and I speak of own experience, it happens to occur more often than you think that you discover a good post as on of the first and be one of the first voters and get more SP yourself... truth works, honesty works, personal greed doesn't.. that's what I believe and I experienced it myself. peace.

Yes I agree with you - I try to upvote Quality. Last week I did a few experiments and I am not sure of the results yet.

Excellent reply. Really it is necessary to read every post before upvoting.

I am just trying to understand how it all works.

Most posts I can not upvote within the 1st 15-30 minutes since it takes time to read the Post and all the comments.

It's like a bicycle invented. So what?

Not sure I understand. Please elaborate. What is a bicycle?

You vote between 15-30 minutes and hope everyone after you upvotes with a lower reputation than you. And, you hope the article goes gang busters and 100s and 100s of lower than you Steemians upvote after you.

I still only ever make .004 SP

If someone of high rep votes after you, then you don't get as much.

OK ... So many Factors ... It is probably a waste of time them to try and time upvotes etc etc .... and go back to just blogging.

Yes. I did this a few times last week and voted between 15-30 minutes on a few posts that went on to make $500 - so I will know how I did in a few days. Only Problem was my Steem Power % was down around 80 % Stay tuned ....

Weird...none of your comments are showing up for this post.

I hope I didn't do something wrong with my research here.

Now they are back . Weird ....

Nope. I only see them when I click on the individual comment. Not on the article itself.

Help for me.good job.resteemd

Yes. The increase will be 20% per day. So if you down to 80%. it will up to 100% in one day.

I will stay tuned for updates

It seems too complicated for me -

Helpful infos, thank you. :)

You are very welcome. It is complicated but I am learning.

Post consistently good content 4 times a day. Upvote comments. Upvote 20-30 new posts that will earn curation rewards. Accurate voting is rewarded. Market sbd for Steem and power up! Hold over 500 SP

Hmmm...... If I upvote 20-30 New posts my Steem Power % will drop to 40 % ... Do I adjust my Steem Power voting % to 1 % ?

Now I learnt something new. Awaiting updates. Cheers.

Yes - it seems a bit complicated. For now I want to keep my Voting Power % between 90-100 % by only upvoting 5 times per day and only New (15-30 minutes old) Good Quality posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47