You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tagsonomy: a hierarchical retrieval of valuable posts for Whales and its potential for artificial consciousness

in #steemit8 years ago

I like the idea!
On a tangent: a full ontology built on a poly-hierarchical taxonomy with a coupled thesaurus would make all content navigable in great new ways. Currently used categories could be integrated into this.

The whole thing would look a lot more serious to bloggers, enable intelligent searches and integrate with AI-applications; all things high-level content deserves. Such an ontology, or even a simple taxonomy, does require a small editorial staff.

Next step: scratch the time limits on voting.

If, however, high-quality content isn't a goal, then, by all means, don't bother.

Sort:  

The idea of a full blown ontological taxonomy is great. As usual with these ideas one has to start with something simple and than increase the complexity. For this the builders should already have an idea of the final product, so that they can progress by implementing modules, that can also function independently. We must avoid however wishing to design a too complex architecture at the start. It must evolve towards.

True that, but a bit of architecture beforehand can save you a lot of trouble later, like trying to go from a mono- to a poly-hierarchical taxonomy - yes, got the t-shirt, both professionally and for my own website 8-(. The basis, allowing for future complexity, isn't all that more difficult to do well at the beginning, then fill it out in modular steps.

I agree. A flexible yet structured architecture, that can easily be expanded with more modules. If the whales agree, they may have a valuable asset with your skills. I don't code much, but rather prefer to suggest overall concepts. I did code a fluxmodel forecast system with multiple branches and feedback loops in my company though.

I wrote a whitepaper on the subject for legal content, but it is company confidential. I'll have a look to see if I can make it "neutral".
I also wrote an experimental graphic ontology viewer using SVG and Javascript using ontology data derived from my own website, stored in OWL. I don't have the time at the moment to repeat the exercise for Steemit, I'm afraid.

I don't have enough time either; busy near the end of the year. But by explaining our ideas in sufficient detail, I am positive there are enough programming talents at Steemit, who will pick it up and implement this idea. But it sounds like you have all the knowledge required to implement this idea. Just spotted the OWL in yr avatar!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67