Can't upvote in last 12 hours before payout?

in #steemit7 years ago

Trying to upvote a post that was 2 hours from payout (I hadn't seen it before, and I liked it), I got this error message:

"Cannot increase payout within last twelve hours before payout."

Does anyone know why this is?

Sort:  

I tried to raise concerns about a 12 hour window exclusive for flagging prior to payout just before the HF and was told that it wasn't going to be a problem. Apparently others think it would never occur to anyone to just wait until the last 12 hours and flag the crap out of a post.

That actually sounds like a lot of fun. If only I had more SP.

Your evil streak is showing 8-).

Excellent observation :)

To prevent upvote sniping. It's funny, though, that flags can be given during this time. :D

can you describe what actually is upvote sniping ?

Thanks. There's no such thing as flag sniping, I suppose, unless somebody is really evil.

The path of the mighty flag shall not be blocked by mere mortals.

hi @schattenjaeger and @ocrdu
@vincentfink just asked me the same question when he tried upvoting my post: "STEEM_UPVOTE_LOCKOUT_HF17: Cannot increase payout within last twelve hours before payout.DISMISS"

glad to find you addressing the question..

Can you tell me what upvote sniping is?

If I understood the thread, people are only allowed to upvote posts for a seven day period and if too close to cashout the voting is stopped?

I had something similar but I was doing it 2 hours before but I don't know what's the cut off. Thing is I'm not sure if we should be stopped from voting because theoretically could still be eligible for 2nd payout though in most case that is zero.

There are no second payouts now, just one seven day window with 12 hours at the end of the seven days that can be downvoted only.

Thanks for the update. Somehow, I didn't know that but could have realised if I look clearer into the payout time.

Noticed the same thing today! The comments clear it up, though it sounds a bit weird to me.

Thanks for this post.

thanks, that was pretty helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44