Steemians should work harder to divorce steem from the bitcoin price volatility

in #steemit7 years ago

btst.png

I woke up on the morning of 6th Feb 2018 to find my pretty handsome stash of bitcoin had lost a third of its value and it was going down further and fast. I logged on twitter and as expected the crypto critics were singing their favorite song of how the bubble had just burst. Then prices alert I had set on other cryptos started streaming in; the crypto market was officially a blood bath. I was scheduled to lease some steem power so I logged on the exchange to see the value of steem to help me calculate the profitability of my venture. I was as shocked as I was disappointed to find that steem too was a poor victim of the massive bitcoin price correction.

Bitcoin is the Father or more accurately the grandfather of all cryptocurrencies. Its ground-breaking illustration of the blockchain technology laid the ground work for all these cryptocurrencies blooming up every day. Then, God bless ‘em, a team of pioneers decided to employ the power of blockchain technology to reward content creators and curators via steem.

The main problem to divorcing steem from bitcoin is we want to enjoy the pros of bitcoins without the cons. So how exactly do we do that? If you factor in the age of both steem and bitcoin, then you compare the success of these two coins with their development and deployment timelines, you’ll see that, per unit time, steem is more successful a coin.
This can be credited to the ideological differences behind the development of the two among many factors.

In not so many words my points are….

   1.   Steemians should strive to make steem and steem dollar’s value less volatile

   2.   Steemians should work harder to ensure steem piggybacks on bitcoin success but gets hedges on its failures.

   3.   Steemians should ensure that steem gets more pull and respect in the cryptocurrency ecosystem.
Sort:  

You got a 2.30% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @nyamu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28