Why can't I monetize after 7 days?!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

TL;DR Just update your previous posts

I've been asking myself this question since I started on Steemit but I realized recently that this actually keeps information up-to-date! No-one says you cannot re-use your old posts, update them with new and relevant information like new evidence from scientific studies, stories & background... Oh and a juicy one: updated history. Pyramids, I'm looking at you.
It takes a while but then the genius of Steemit gets you! It's a paradigm shift.

Of course there are downsides to this model too: like spam and plagiarism.

Information sources and copycats

When I investigated the capture of the darkweb Hansa market it was not always evident which source copied information from whom and who the root of the original information was. On Steemit we have the excellent @Cheetah bo

Sort:  

Wait a minute where did the rest of my post go? This is less than 10% that I wrote! Wtf happened? I was writing this post written for over a week and I updated it every day a bit until it was finished and hit publish!

I just hope you followed my recommendation in earlier posts, and wrote your post offline in another editor program, so you have it still saved on your PC. I have lost a long post as well before, so I learned that lesson. The storage in the blockchain is not fail safe, and there have been problems in the past few days.

To the subject of your post... well, what is really new? Of course, copy and past jobs are obviously not, but even 95% of the other posts are about nothing new. If the "new only" rule is applied to radically, the feeds would be empty until someone finds the formula for world peace or a cure for cancer.
I think the measure should be rather " is this interesting?". And that will of course differ from person to person. For me, it can be a link to a cool video just as well as a elaborate text.

The draft was saved everytime so I wasn't expecting an error like this.

I'm really sorry you couldn't read the whole post, the intro is kind of misleading on itself, I went into details writing about how hashes work and MS' PhotoDNA which could track original works just like @Cheetah does. It was really cool! :(

If you keep posting the same articles then sooner or later some high power voter will start to hit you with the downvote hammer and kill all you income. I am sure there are bots running that will look for repost activity and flag users when noticed.

I noticed a user the other day where some power users has systematically clubbed then with downvotes for various offences. Net result about 10 stories has their income totally wiped.

Wow hold on there, this is not a post that was not recycled at all. But I guess you mean the point I'm trying to make? I'm not sure about that either but sure you have a point there. You'll have to have a balance but I think it is ok to re-use posts, but I never suggested copying them!

I see several reasons:

  • they went unnoticed, didn't receive much upvotes
  • You can expand upon the topic
  • There is updated information new evidence
  • Retraction, there is evidence countering your claims
  • You changed your viewpoints and want to take the topic on a new perspective.
  • You use posts from someone else because they inspired you but write them using your own perspective, adding as you go along.

I think these are valid use cases, what do you think? And of course if you just copy some bot like @Cheetah will notice.

Take music for example, there are just not so many possibilities still music gets reinvented and copied all the time. Same goes for the news, most of it is 'same old same old'. Just written differently.

So what you are saying is good! I had my most success with improving a compelling topic which nobody covered in the detail I did. On the other hand I had the least success by reposting news items I found interesting and wanted to share. But this could be just because I'm still new here. I see others who are here for over a year writing much shorter posts and receiving 10x the amounts. I'll keep doing my best exploring new connections. Like I said I like writing about 'the future' and new technologies and ideas.

I have gone through the same problems myself. I have some big articles I started with that didn't really get seen because I was new. Hours of time sunk in when I still didn't have any idea on the system.

I think you are on the right track with re-visiting an article, there is nothing wrong with revisiting a topic and expanding, and even linking the original.

On my longer posts I split them over a number of parts. Then edit the older ones so they all link together. You get to spread the article out over different days, so more chance of getting spotted. Also pick up votes on ones still active.

The key thing is building the follower numbers I think. That way you appear on peoples wall far longer, so you pick up more votes. If your article manages to hit the "hot" list it can take off quick.

I am still feeling my way also. Make sure you pick 5 good tags that are around your area and then look how active they are :)

The reason some small posts can go big is through follower count, steempower of the people voting etc. And right place at the right time.

It you look at my wall, lots of stuff hardly seen and then at random. boom.

You probably get 90% of your money from 10% of what you post.

Write, have fun and keep going, it starts to get more worthwhile. The start is building the foundations.

Oh thank you for the kind words! Best thing to hear so far :) Still stressed out trying to find the darn thing in a cache.

Congratulations @nutela! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49