Why the exodus?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It used to be when I posted, I'd get Ginabot notifications of many new followers. I figured most of them were bots, but hey it's nice to have them anyway.

question-mark-2123967_640.jpg
Source

But I hadn't posted for a while and I started getting notifications of people unfollowing.

That's to be expected I thought since I wasn't creating content.

But then I posted, and I lost more followers.

So I went to Ginabot and looked at the people unfollowing. Almost every single one had a negative reputation and low SP. Not all of them but 90% or more.

It's good they aren't following me anymore I guess but I'm wondering whether there is a mass exodus away from me specifically or if there is a change it the collective bot programming.

Well? Is it me or is this happening to everyone?

enter image description here

Need help editing and formatting your blogs? Check out my editing services.

enter image description here

enter image description here


enter image description here

Join the Freewrite fun today! Visit @Freewritehouse


Pay it forward contest

Support the Steem community by participating in the Pay it Forward Contest!


Proud to be part of the


enter image description here

Please the Bananafish god by entering the Finish the Story Contest

All images are mine or licensed from Adobe except where noted. Freewritehouse, Pay it Forward and the Bananafish Tribe used with permission from their owners

Sort:  

Eh, it happens to me too, but I didn't know how to check who is unfollowing me. Honestly, I'm not sure I would even want to know. If it's someone I thought was a good friend on here, it will leave me pondering their decision a bit too much.

I think the most important thing is to try to remain active, and maintain the best communication with your friends that's feasibly possible for you. If you have friends here that can't understand you have a life outside of Steemit, what kind of friends are they anyways?

At the end of the day, I think most of us would be lucky to maintain engagement with even 10 percent of our followers. The cold hard truth, is many of the followers are either gone already, or bots.

Steem on friend.

Much love,
@futuremind

Thanks for the reply @futuremind. Ironically, after I posted this one I had a whole new bunch of followers rather quickly. I do wish they were real people and not bots.

It is rather empty lately I agree but for me that has just made the community feel a little closer. And it's a great opportunity to build up SP for whenever it takes off again.

I'm glad you're still here!

And it's a great opportunity to build up SP for whenever it takes off again.

Exactly 😉

I'm happy your sticking it through. Keep steeming friend, we'll be seeing you around!

Congratulations @ntowl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79