Craigslist and phone Scamming! WTF!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

B6B89229-9ABA-4461-A240-FEFF483B91DD.jpeg

What not to do!
Stay for the ending it’s the best!

So yeah this happened today... okay so I’m currently trying to sell my Bikinis online that My husband and I purchased from a store going out of business, so we went in and scooped up the inventory... Amazing idea right. Now I’m a business owner AWESOME !!! NOT! It’s been hell... but that’s besides the Amazon selling and people wanting to return because it doesn’t fit them... (NASTY) I don’t want your worn bikini back , I can’t sell that... NO RETURNS ! so anyway
Amazon has this thing when you sell on there site that you have to have the UPC . I have about 30 Bikinis that are a Private label without that UPC so cant sell them on Amazon. So instead I decided to go to Apps like: Craigslist, Letgo, OfferUp, 5miles etc...
I found out today that things can happen if you have your number listed. Now don’t get me wrong I already figured someone would spam call or text, but never did I think my phone number would be STOLEN ! WTF !!! I will now be showing you our messages...

Buyer/asshole phone # hijacker: Hi, 
I'm Angela wanna buy your  4 Bikini sets
 urgently. Can i call u now?

Me: Yes you can call me.

Buyer/asshole phone # hijacker: Calling, receive my call and press 68 to connect with me. It's my regular phone i just use google app for calling.

(In the process I did go to look up there number before they called but nothing showed up with flag. In my defense I thought they were at work calling from computer or something)

Phone rings, caller ID reads (202)455-8888
So I answer

Me: Hello

Auto computer person : welcome to google Voice please enter your 2 digit (whatever she said ) code.

Ok I can handle a code... yeah 6- 8 ... entered

Auto computer person : Thank you your google voice Account has been set up , you can set up your voicemail ( I don’t remember exact words)

I froze I’m like Whaaaaa omg what did I just do... ok open app for Safari (iPhone X user here) type in the number that called me... wait a sec... Bink ... first result
EE55DB95-34A7-4E94-87A7-AA1910C3C112.jpeg

Ohhhh ohhhh shittttt! Okay... let’s watch this video. Meanwhile the Buyer/asshole phone # hijacker Is texting me

Buyer/asshole phone # hijacker:
Sorry just a mistake. Call u again in a few min

And another one

Buyer/asshole phone # hijacker:There was a mistake.I fix it now. Calling, press 31 for recieve my call perfectly and talk about more discuss.

( I’m not even reading I’m trying to figure out how to undue this F&$@ up...)

Buyer/asshole phone # hijacker:Are you serious? I'm waiting for talk with you

(While they’re texting me I’m getting phone calls in from that 202 # over and over)

CFF2928F-10C4-4488-A413-9608EA176695.png

Buyer/asshole phone # hijacker: Hey I called u but no answer. I hope you are serious for sell but you are not. bye

Calls stop, texts stop...

Okay... let me figure out how to fix this...

Asshole!

Basically you have to go create your own Google Voice account (lots of steps) then link your number to it and you got your number back or change your number... well your supposed to get that 2 digit call again and I never got it. My number is linked to my google voice account now but, I didn’t get that call... hmm, so I either got my number back or they were not able to get it hense why they messaged me back to do it
again , or they still got my number also... guess I will wait to find out LOL.

After I felt better that I got my number I texted them back

Me: Lol

Me: What happened you messed up stealing my number ... smh

So then I’m searching the web for idk what (on my phone 📱) and the whole damn thing freezes. It is like there’s a sticker on my phone ...

Ugh... I have the iPhone X so a hard reset is not like the old day... I have to play f&@$ng Tap Tap with all the buttons till it turns off. I get it off and back on. Haven’t had a problem since...

So yeah I wanted to share this with everyone so hopefully it won’t happen to you!!!

But wait !!! THERES MORE

So after I got done with this post I get an email

11A8EF1B-38E7-4E83-9BC6-58CAB010EAC3.jpeg

And I know know not to fall for this one. So here is my response

82F68834-5D3F-4D19-A07D-C69CB7EA3A2D.png

Be careful trying to sell!

Note2Self: Everyday is a new Lesson... try not to learn anymore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59425.55
ETH 2345.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44