You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Modest Proposal

in #steemit8 years ago

I have a huge problem with the reputation being the voting power. Recently, I was attacked by a bot train that sent 11 flags within seconds to one of my articles.

I also witnessed people getting angry with other people for choosing to use their vote on something they liked. You used the term "garbage". Someone voted on my article, they didn't think it was garbage. Others got angry with that person because they felt what I did was garbage even though the votes were in and far more thought it was good.

My stance. I'm going to spend majority of my time contributing my art and words. I'll vote when I can, comment when I can. I don't require the "power" and don't feel it's necessary to be successful here. I don't care who votes on what. It's their vote. It does bother me though when people think one persons trash can't possibly be another persons treasure. That mentality is harming steemit and forcing some of us to walk on eggshells, when we shouldn't have to.

I do enjoy your work here, by the way. So please keep doing what you do.

Sort:  

with my proposal in place Assholes won't GET a high reputation....and thus they won't be able to harm someone by flagging.

Thank you for the kind words..I have a few thousand more words all ready in place on TEOTWAWKI and more to write..

Now that I think of it, the flag train was caused by a low rep high wealth coward (pardon my language). My reputation was hit though. I earned this. Many helped to bring it back up as well.

That story of yours gets my vote every time I see it pop up, and yes I do read it.

With my proposal in place that could not have happened.

I'll admit, I don't have a full understanding of how all of this works. I've been doing a bit of reading. Some of the things you say do make sense now.

Steemit is a work in progress, it's based on something called the BlockChain which is it based on something called CryptoCurrency.
The whole concept of Crypto-currency (Bit coin was the first) then later Block Chain and the uses it can be put to...is brand new.
Ten years or less I think.

Before high speed, and very cheap, and ubiquitous computers it would have been impossible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60