You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Addressing Steemit's Social Confusion

in #steemit8 years ago

I see a lot of new members start up, attempt to emulate the informational broadcast stuff, and quit. I don't have any problems with those who educate. It's necessary, but we all see people trying to fake it.

Many of those who've established themselves here like to promote their way as one of the only ways.

There are ways to take a facebook style approach and be successful here. It's all about the presentation.

So many here seem to treat this like a job, where they must hold themselves to a certain standard or be shunned by their peers. They forget to stop, take a step back, and maybe have a bit of fun as well.

Fun should be encouraged. I'm having fun. I made many of the same mistakes most new users make before they give up.

Things started to come together once I decided to just, do my own thing. People seem to be enjoying it. I hope more people come along with similar interests as myself.

The art scene is also doing very well here in my honest opinion.

It's very social. Facebook is anti social. People just need to learn how to be themselves all over again, instead of that easily distracted like button addicted meme sharing fiend. Pardon my language.

Sort:  

Totally get your point, and I was generalising when I said Facebook type posts. What I meant was, in general the type of post that gets lots of likes on FB. In particular political posts, and personal rants, don't gain traction here, simply because you're not in a homogenised silo of "friends" the facebook algo has chosen for you.

I do think there should be a fun side to it, and I like @nanzo-scoop's suggestion that a Steem social whereby people where rewarded for a more fun type of engagement.

All in all, I'm glad to hear you've been doing well and enjoying yourself at the same time, and I'm glad I've started this discussion. You and plenty of others have very valuable views on this; and I hope the "powers that be", get wind of these comments.

I think all in all, there is a lot of positivity, I just feel we are at a good point to stop, and look at where we've come from and where we're going.

Cg

Some of those rants. People are good at them. We often forget how our communication methods evolve. A huge wall of rambling text does not appeal to purists, but there is an audience for it. It might not be for everyone, but that doesn't mean it shouldn't be accepted.

I'd hate to see selfie addicts take over, along with that sort of audience. I totally get what you mean, on many levels.

I really must get going though and I thank you for taking the time to do what you do here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45