Steamit – revolution or disappointment? [article DRAFT]

in #steemit8 years ago

When I wrote my first text about Steemit for WP, service was available only for testers.

It is still draft/poc of article for WP, it should be print in 1-2 weeks in business part of weekend edition of WP. It will be my debute in business dept. Keep finger crossed ;) If you have any suggestion what else I should write about Steemit give me know in comments.

I remember when I visit WP business' dept to talk about steems - they said only: “another bitcoin “another bitcoin [TBD: about bitcoins] ?! c’mon” –. Only few person from ours business dept asked me about details, and saw the potential.

Idea and hope

New, fresh website, with digital currency for editors and new interesting idea to use blockchain [TBD – about blockchain] to create safe content with history – this is Steamit.

Now Steemit is available for everyone so I decided to share my experience with it. I decided also to create this article on Steemit. (New experience).
Steemit gave hope fr a vast revolution. Revolution for digital editors from big portals but also revolution for social content makers like bloggers. Steemit give them new area to earning money. And it really valuable money because people - readers decide how much their content is really worth. Upvote for good text means real money for editor. Upvote means also that article is popular so it trending up. Mechanism is very popular for well known services like reddit and service promote only good text. But it is dedicated for creators. Great idea. Is it? It was but reality is different. A lot of users want to earn money – even if they create nothing. So a lot of “authors” is really pitiful. Users copy content from other sites, They put a lot of low articles about it how to make a huge money on steemit, fake tutorials, fake analysis. Nobody cares about ownership of content, and a lot of users simply steals somebody’s content. There is a lot of rubbish already. And Steemit need to find solution to filter this. And they try to do it. I saw there is huge bot activity, which downvoting, and flags an rubbish content.

Test

I have few accounts on Steemit for test different scenarios – different users’ usage of Steemit and I am try to compare it what is the best way to earn some dollars.

This is a result:

  1. The real me
    IT news editor, writer. I copied my newspapers’ articles into steamit. All my own texts.
    Result: 12 articles, 1-250SD, 5-0,02, rest about 10SD
  2. As a cats lover
    A lot of stupid copy/paste pictures of cats.
    Result: 30 artucles, sum: 11SD
  3. As a traveler
    I copy some editorials articles about tracel – nice pictures, tips, videos
    Result: 30SD
  4. Test account
    I have also test account, here you can find some test articles: me as a foreigner copy-paste some net content, some pictures, some weird news, memes, travel ranks, comics…
    Result: 0SD

In my opinion only real and valuable content can earn money, real money.

If you see the most popular articles on steemit – you will see great, huge number of upvoting – this is real, great moneys for author!

Take a look at first post from Steemit, and user’s wallet: https://steemit.com/@gavvet/transfers It is nice amount!

If you want try your own experience with Steemit – try it on Steemit.com. It is steal in Beta version – but it is fully functionally.

It is still draft/poc of article for WP, it should be print in 1-2 weeks in business part of weekend edition of WP. It will be my debute in business dept. Keep finger crossed ;) If you have any suggestion what else I should write about Steemit give me know in comments.

TODO plan

  • [ ] about blockchain
  • [ ] about ccn
  • [ ] account examples
  • [ ] about editor
  • [ ] steam coin history - markets
  • [ ] idea descriptions - link to project
  • [ ] examples of another projects
  • [ ] correction
    .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41