Nervous To Talk To People At Steemfest?

in #steemit6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-10-02 at 11.13.01 PM.png

Imagine. You fly thousands of miles to meet people you've talked to online for the first time in real life.

Will you click in person? What if it's more difficult to talk in person than it is online?

It's not like a party where you can hide in the bathroom to avoid talking to people until your best friend shows up.

It's an event that lasts for several days...

...and the bathroom would probably get a little uncomfortable after awhile.

You're hoping to meet all new Steemians, too, and not just people that you've come across already on the platform.

After all, you flew all the way to Poland to create new connections and deepen ones you already have, right?

Steemfest is all about community and strengthening relationships. It's about maybe finding someone new that we can collaborate with.

You never know.

Maybe you'll meet someone at Steemfest that would love to host a show with you.

Or start a steemit project with you!

I'd seen some people talking about being nervous to start conversations with people at steemfest. Or nervous that they wouldn't have any friends. Or no one to sit with.

So I thought "why not make Steemfest conversation starter t-shirts?"

That way people have something interesting to talk about. Or maybe they can find they have something in common and could start a steemit project together.

I also want to make a way to go to Steemfest myself! As of right now, I'm about $700 short (round-trip travel for plane ticket) for the trip.

But because of AMAZING awesome steemians like @anomadsoul, I've got the other stuff covered + the encouragement to go ahead and give it all I've got to try to get there!

Other steemians have also nominated me to enter contests and I appreciate that so much.

And then I had a surprise win of 100 steem from @pharesim who is BEYOND generous (he gave 100 steem to 15 different people). I wanted to give a shoutout and say thank you again to him because he deserves recognition and lots of thanks.

I want to earn my way if possible, so the tshirts are finally made!!!

I only get about $5 profit per sale. They will only be on sale for the next few days because I want to make sure everyone gets their tshirt in time.

All profits will go towards my plane ticket for steemfest!

The rest of the designs will be uploaded by tomorrow!

If you want a customized tshirt, message me on discord and we'll talk!

Check out the ghetto (hopefully as of tomorrow less ghetto) store now!

https://teespring.com/stores/steemfest-3

Sort:  

I would imagine it will be super akward dragging thousands of introverts into the same area and expecting them to interact. Probably make for some great people watching though.

hahah which is super fun free entertainment!

lmao YES!!!!!!!! lol love this book!!!

I'm not into t-shirts, but you should get a nice little surprise from mene this morning. 😉

Aw what do you mean/

I got some mene jewelry off your referral link yesterday. They didn't notify you?

awesome!!! Actually you don't get any credits if the person who buys uses some of their Mene credit, so sometimes it takes awhile but it's fine.

Omg I'm SO excited! I can't wait to see what you got!!

It's going to POP on you whatever it is. You're so gorgeous yay I'm excited to see it lol

Hahaha, this made me laugh so much! Hiding in the bathroom until your best friend shows up.... so good! You know your introverts!

haha well, you always make me laugh! I minored in introverts in college

Question, are you still Portland-bound? I've got the whole city ready with parades and signs and balloons and celebratory sloths...

I'll come back for the sloths! But I may wait until after winter when they're done hibernating. lol but yes. gotta go back to PDX. Or west coast. Or everywhere. gah why can't I pick a forever home?! haha

Hahaha, yes! I knew sloths would get you moving. Young lady, you can't 'pick' a forever home, that's way too much pressure... just land in a place, and set it up, and if you end up staying there forever, great, and if not, new adventures await... even the term 'forever home' makes me nervous, haha.

Well... it's not your fault, but I'm a lil disappointed with your answer... I was so hoping for a 'arriving this weekend, see you at the foodtrucks'...

If I went, I would totally hide and make people talk to me on discord, especially if we were in the same room

hahaha that's why you're awesome

I was wondering why you thought I might be awesome, now I know !!

Well, I certainly hope you get there. I think you and I have quite a bit in common. Would love to meet you in Krakow! I got my tickets just last week. Keep up the great work and hope to see you there! From Odessa Ukraine! -Dan

I think we do too!

Hey @nomadicsoul,
Make up your mind and you'll definitely be able to make it there this time!

thanks for the encouragement!

Ha ha, I had the image in my head while reading the beginning of this post of more and more shy steemians piling into the bathroom to hide until suddenly the music starts, disco ball descends and the bathroom becomes the party hub. Lol, sry I have an odd brain 😂

T-shirts look cool @nomadicsoul, I am on a mad tight budget myself but I will resteem this post and share around my network to see if I can drum up some interest. I am keeping fingers and toes crossed for you to make it to Krakow 🙂

What a lovely idea, @nomadicsoul! :) they're really cute!

The difficult part is finding something to talk about. However, since everybody there will be Steemian, it breaks the ice.

Hello friend, those shirts are beautiful. I would like to be able to buy it, but I will not be able to go to steemfest. I am in Venezuela and it is very difficult to buy a ticket there. Only a rich man would do it. But I hope you have a lot of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45