You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit.com is transparently not private, and I like it

in #steemit8 years ago

It is obvious that people who want privacy are either criminals or have something to hide and they might not even realize that is why they want privacy.

In some cases privacy is good, like. lets say when I go on vacation or I want to be alone, that kind of privacy is great but needing privacy for transactions or "what Im doing with my money" is ultimatly sketchy.

Being open and public defines the charictor of who Im talking to, and I dont have friends because I know they have secrets (or do they?).

A world where nothing is private, except when Ii want to be alone, its not even that I need to be alone, people can even watch me then, but as long as I cant see them there, why would I care unless Im being evil.

great post

Sort:  

yes, in my mind the umbilical cord of privacy in a public social platform was not easy to cut, but that cord has to get cut after birth

"A world where nothing is private, except when Ii want to be alone, its not even that I need to be alone, people can even watch me then, but as long as I cant see them there, why would I care unless Im being evil."

The main problem is that 'evil' is not an objective notion. Morality varies from person to person, and what you wouldn't consider evil could very well be by someone else.

The problem I have with money display is that it drives people away from your message. Greed and jealousy can instil bias in someone's opinion, and lead to argumentum ad hominem.
To me, blockchain technology is more about freedom than anything else. Each user should be free to decide wether or not he wants his balance displayed.

evil meaning harming people

If someone is insecure about having thier balance displayed then they shouldnt create an account to begin with, in my opinion, of course.

Could the word freedom not also be subjective?
Ii mean, if I want the freedom to see in your pocket, what you are holding to determine what kind of person you are, shouldnt I be granted that freedom?
Sure everyone has thier own ideaof what words mean, but my idea is freedom is to have an ability to inspect a person and judge them by what ever factors i deem to myself to be relevent.
:)

To me freedom is giving the choice. As an individual, your freedom stops where other's begin. However, society function by establishing rules to occasionally breach someone's complete freedom, and it works as long as people are willing to play by these rules.
Voting is a good way for a decentralized platform to establish the rules it wants to live with. That's all I'm saying : ask the community.

I probably shouldnt have brought the idea to a physical point a view, and i see that now.
but complete transperancy on a social plateform, in my eye, can only be a good thing. its about getting a feel for that person, and yeah some may judge you by your wallet, but obviously someone judging that way should be irrelevent to me if that is the deciding factor in thier evaluation of who i apppear to be online

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32