You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Bittrex securing your Steem properly?

in #steemit7 years ago

I guess now the information is out there. It's a matter of time before attempts are made. If the hackers did not think of it now they do. I wonder is there a safer way to point out a security loop whole? Just me thinking out loud.

Sort:  

It isn't just bittrex it is also poloniex: https://steemit.com/steemit/@bigdeej/poloniex-no-cold-storage-for-steem-funds-usd50-million-usd-at-risk-in-hot-wallet
And I suggest sharing this post with them if you are a customer since the more people who bring it to their attention the faster it can be fixed. In less than 2 hours this could be fixed and a cold storage setup! At most 1 day! The solutions are simple and something that are very well known in the crypto security industry. The only option is to force them to fix it by publicly disclosing their flaws! Anyone who uses them could easily figure this information out. Hackers already know, they just haven't gotten through (yet)! I advise exchanges not to wait till it does happen before implementing cold storage procedures and policies!

I use bittrex but not for Steem. I am happy to use @blocktrades for all my trading needs

I have heard many issues with bittrex lately and have not used them in years. I like blocktrades since you do not have to even make an account and funds are almost always in your control.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53