Writing every day because I can't handle all these good ideas myselfsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

shut up and write

I'm going to practice long-form blog posts because right now I can only seem to emit text in a conversation when the reader is loaded up on context and I can use sentence fragments.

This is all well and good until your competitors start writing Medium blog posts and start capturing mindshare faster than 1 developer at a time. I shouldn't be delegating the task of sharing my thoughts with the world. 500 words per day is a good place to start. I can even get paid for it thanks to the miracle of Steemit.

On this account I will stick with technical writing about my work:

  • Smart contract systems and lessons from 3 years of development for the EVM
  • Maker/Dai
  • Dappsys building blocks, verification, and saving the Ethereum ecosystem from anti-patterns
  • Thoughts on blockchain/crypto systems in general, which projects I like and which are terrible
  • Thoughts on project ideas that have value that nobody is working on and I don't plan to either

writing is hard

So at this point I've been typing for ~5 minutes and have about ~170 words even though I type at about 110 words per minute (and the typing speed is the limiting factor) when chatting with coworkers. If I could emit my normal stream of consciousness at 110 words per minute into long-form posts I think everyone would benefit.

what have you done?!

Here is bit of relevant work history from memory:

  • 2011 Discovered bitcoin and got hooked
  • 2014 Discovered altcoins ("next-gen blockchain apps") and got hooked
  • 2014 During my last year of college I got involved in the Bitshares community.
  • 2015 Left bitshares and worked briefly at google.
  • 2015 Left google to work on Maker and the software components that would later become dapp and dappsys.
  • 2016 Officially incorporated DappHub (as Nexus Development)
  • 2017 Released full formal spec and reference implementation for Dai
  • 2017 renamed to DappHub
  • 2017 Released Sai

I think it would be fun to write about my crypto trade history in parallel to my work history, but that is for another time.

what are you good for?!

In my undergrad I focused on OS and VM design (to the extent that an undergrad can). I wrote toy versions of a unix-inspired kernel and a compiler for a c-like language. In the Ethereum ecosystem I applied this to turn an ugly machine (EVM) into a beautiful machine (dappsys pattern language), and this full-picture understanding helps produce quality code reviews for smart contracts as well.

I am playing with EOS and Urbit, the two decentralized platforms I find most promising besides Ethereum. Much of dappsys carries across naturally to both of those platforms and suggests we can develop a universal ontology for "trustless code-objects" and their use cases.

cut your losses

I'm at less than 500 words but really need to do real work now. Cheers

Sort:  

Wow..I don't even understand half of what you said...lol Looks like you forgot 'joined steemit - got hooked' under what I have done column....;)

Wow thanks nikolai! How in the heck can I get my voting worth high like yours? Do I have to have massive steem power? My upvotes don't even reward anyone .50. I feel so insufficient as a friend because of that.

Да, писать непросто. Узнать про bitcoin в 2011 это везение! Я в этом узнала.

Yours writing so nice.

Exciting post .. thanks for sharing my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85