I'm back after yet another 4 months

in #steemit5 years ago

Hi everyone. Although I started out with the intention to share myself, to really create a dynamic something with people here, it just never took off that way. I just never could "keep the grove", so to speak. I never could stick with all this.

My life is very topsy-turvy. I never suffered from any mental illness, but I do go through big highs, and then drop to lows (I don't have bipolar).

I wish to write that we are not meant to be special or great for its own sake. In today's modern world, we go to either of the two extremes...

1). You just fit in, you conform with the "norm" and mediocrity due to fear, conformity and laziness. Most people, of course, fear standing out due to the comfort of going with the flow.

But I'm not gonna talk about that. Because you along with most people have heard this already.

We also hear so much about this from all the "disruptors", the "innovators", the "creative" ones, etc. The Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and the Elon Musks of the world.

That leads to another thing many of us are indoctrinated into...

  1. We are told to "stand out", "be different" and "make a difference".

Why be different for its own sake? When we invest our lives and our identity into being different, then we truly lose our truly SOURCE, that impersonal endless source of all that is truly dynamic, colorful, creative and genius!

Genius doesn't mean having to reinvent the wheel or come up with something which is new in EVERY SINGLE WAY.

No, genius more often than not builds upon that which it has encountered previously.

When we invest our identity into being someone who "makes a difference", who is innovative, a disruptor like Steve Jobs etc, in other words, it becomes a self-image that our egos juice off, that is how we fall into a trap of endless frustration, because genius doesn't come from wanting to emulate certain people or wanting to gain some kind of selfish emotional payoff from being a certain way.

Creativity shines forth when you are not in your way, and when you are still (not wanting to control your creativity or wanting to identify with it). Your creativity may be stifled due to your repressive lifestyle, but it's still in you. Your genius manifests differently than that of everyone else, and that is how it's meant to be!

You're not here to "make a difference, you're here to get out of your own way, including the golden statues of yourself that you built in your own mind out of vanity.

I dont know if I will write again for some time. I write when I am inspired, and I never know when it may strike again.

I send you my love.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nielssenm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @nielssenm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76