(The Same Picture of Brendan Fraser Every Day) And Why It Isn't good enough for steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

More Like Cumming Around the Brend, amirite?FB_IMG_1482697962231.jpg

This is the current The Same Picture of Brendan Fraser Every Day post for February 4, 2018. When I came to steemit, I had considered the idea of bringing this along with me.

Upon further inspection, it just isn't going to work out. But there is a good reason why.

As a joke, a friend of mine became obsessed with this facebook page. I don't know if it was the obscurity of the movie star reference, his hilarious face in the picture, or my deep underlying questioning, "What did happen to Brendan Fraser, a man I have become fond of referring to as the Brenddog?"

Answer: Nothing good

Seriously, if you google him, he's basically broke after undergoing a messy divorce.

I loved the idea of this 90's treasure, coming back to adoring fans daily. When I found out that he got a part in a showtime series, I somehow became the biggest fan.

And then fate intervened

Through an odd set of circumstances, I noticed that the admin of the page wasn't posting every day. In fact, he may have been posting every other day, and then every other week. Finally he stopped posting at all.

This is how I became the moderator of the daily picture page for the greatest actor in hollywood to this very day, the Brend Dog himself, Brendan Fraser. Since that day, I have had a blast coming up with interesting quips and quotes and have involved a good friend and fellow 90s heart throb connoseuir. He has posted some of my favorite posts, and has picked up the slack on days that I had forgotten.

When I finally got accepted to Steemit, I was ready to bring the brend dog with me, swinging from vine to vine like George of the Jungle himself.

But then I realized something.

Steemit is a real COMMUNITY, and as with any community, information that isn't useful will largely go ignored as it should. I began to realize that TSPOBFED was just not meant for steemit.

The content on this site should be useful, helpful, accessible. It should provide a level of contribution. Without this, there is no point.

So it is with this post that I say goodbye to #brenddog. For the good of the steemit community.

What do you think, is there a better platform for the Brend dog? Is he destined for a life of obscurity, or should we start the comeback party? I would love to hear thoughts from the community, maybe theres another place for TSPOBFED.

One can only hope.

Sort:  

Congratulations @nick.james! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nick.james! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64