Some Tips For Beginner Steemit Content Creators

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

tips.jpg


So I just started Steemit 3 days ago, but through a lot of trial and error and some googling I learned a lot!

I'm gonna share some tips with you that will help you get a jump start on this platform, listen up!


Tip #1 : Good Thumbnails

For those who don't know what a thumbnail is, they are the images that appear next to your article before some one clicks on it.
So you want to make these appealing.

How do I add a thumbnail to my posts?

It is simple, just drag and drop the image from your computer into the text box, it will upload and appear as some code you probably have never seen. But scroll down to the preview of your post and you will see how it turned out.

My picture looks cut off after I post my article...

If your image is not a good size it'll look distorted or cut off after you are finished publishing

How do I fix this?

What you are going to want to do is change the dimensions of your photo to about 800x480

  • Go to picmonkey.com
  • Click edit on the top of the page
  • Open your photo you plan on using
  • On the left hand side, click Resize (it is below the "sharpen" option)
  • Uncheck keep proportions
  • In the first box type 800 in the second type 480
  • Click Apply
  • Then Press Save above your newly formatted photo
  • Save to your computer
  • DONE

Tip #2 : Profile Picture

You're gonna want a profile picture so you don't look like a noob, here is how you do it...

  • Click on the circle next to Submit a Story
  • Select Settings
  • You'll notice a text box with "Profile Picture URL" above it
  • You will need a URL for the photo you plan to upload
    - Go to tinypic.com
    - Click Choose File
    - Click Upload Now
    - You might have to fill out a Captcha (to prove you're not a robot)
    - Copy the link in the box "IMG Code for Forums & Message Boards"
    - Paste in the text box "Profile Picture Url" in your Steemit settings
    - Erase the [IMG] and [/IMG] that are at the beginning and end of your link
    - Update
    - DONE

Tip #3: Tags

Make sure you are using proper tags when you post your articles so the right audience will find your post and you won't be flagged for improper tags.

Popular Tags

Life = posts about general life stuff
Steemit = posts that are relating to the steemit platform
Blog = Blogs of any nature are welcome
Funny = self explanatory, funny stuff found here
Story = where you can post a story

There are much more tags, and you can make up your own if you'd like

Tip #4 : STEEM, STEEM Dollars, STEEM Power

I know this is confusing to a lot of people. But I think I have a general idea about the difference between the 3...

STEEM : The actual cryptocurrency, I'm sure you heard of bitcoin, these can be traded for other currencies including dollars and euros

STEEM Dollars : These are worth approximately $1 of STEEM

STEEM Power : This is what gives you voting power on Steemit, and they can be converted to STEEM in a process called "Powering Down" which takes about 3 months (13 weekly payments)

Tip #5 : Upvote and Follow

-Always make sure to upvote posts that you really like or thought were useful

-Follow the creators that you like so you will see their posts on the Home tab whenever they publish an article

We all appreciate it!!


If you have questions about something you can ask me in the comments section, I will help as much as I can.

@nexttimetech

DQmTiCwPX5Eh6J9TrHZ9Aki1E8u7jM6gc2LqvycQ91JFrjQ.gif

Sort:  

SteemIt seems to re-size big images nicely. Also, for beginners, HTML works too.

Thanks for great tips and best short explanation I've found so far for STEEM, STEEM Dollars and STEEM Power.

Thanks for the tips!

Thanks for the tips we need all the help we can get.

Good tips! Putting them to practice now :)
Edit: Just wanted to add, this post i did a short while ago might be relevant. Here are the top paying tags after you account for the number of posts.

The system really is quite complex, from my experience so far you seem to have summarized some nice tips for posting quite well.

Thank you. Do you know how I can change the name that shows up when I post? On my page the name shows up correctly as "June." But, when I post the name "Weq," which I choose back in September when I didn't know what I was doing, shows up for my posts. I just want to be identified as June for everything. Do you have any ideas? Again, thank you so much.

How do I log out so i can use different computer.

Thanks, I will put into use as I get started.

Thanks for the info!
I am new to steemit!
I was wondering about the dimensions for the thumbnail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31