Expectations Vs Reality in Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

We may have many expectations when we joined steemit. We may have been actually impressed by the amounts below every post, read or see some tutorials before we made sure it was a real platform before we decided to sign up for this next social community.

Well I joined steemit with a lot of expectations and here I am hurt with my incomplete expectations. But I am not among the one who give up rather here I am with this brand new post on Expecations and Reality in steemit. This post is mainly based on new users like me who got to know about steemit and had a lot of expecations on it.

I have tried to compile this article on certain topics and see if you can relate to any of these topics.

1. Introduceyourself post

Well, introduceyourself post is supposed to be your first article in which you actually write about yourself. Its similar to an eassy on yourself you wrote about you in your school.

Basically, this post makes you known to the community and get some like minded followers.

Expectation

You may have navigated to the trending page of introduceyourself tag and seen some high earning introduction posts. Then you wrote one about yourself and waited for getting the upvotes and see some huge figures below your post.

Reality

After some 2 to 3 days you have published your introduceyourself post all you got was some 10 upvotes from complete newbies, less than 1 dollar and 2 to 3 comments that too are complete spams.

2. Getting Topics for your next post

Well I had thought Steemit is just like some other social medias where you'll have plenty ideas to write about. Then I prepared the articles on every topic I had thought of.

Reality

Well you'll actually get out of topics for your next post after a week or somedays like that and you'll end up posting memes and photographies continuosly which will end up making your blog looks like a shit place.

3. Making SBDs

Expectations

Well to be honest I joined steemit to make SBDs and to be rich quick. We all may had made plans what to do with the earned dollars before we actually published our first article. Well I had plans to buy a new laptop. LOL

Reality

It is after a week on steemit when you'll realise that the SBDs will not grow in your posts that easy. This is when you'll get bored of it and may eventually give up on it as well.

4. Bot Upvotes

Expectations

Well bot upvotes seems really interesting in the beginning. I thought I would actually make more than double the spent amount. Well i though the spent SBDs will make my posts shine in the trending areas.

Reality

Well it was after some experiments I realised that after spending my earnings on bots I ended up making the same amount on the posts. And the expenditure neither took me to trending areas nor got the attention of any whales.

5. Getting to Trending Pages

Well you get a place for few seconds in New section after publishing the post and I don't think anyone would navigate infinte new posts and read every of them and upvote the good ones. This is why we get a temptation to get to trending section.

Expecations

Well I had expecations that one among my many crafted post will once shine in the trending areas. I spent long hours crafting my posts, even spent some SBDs to promote to shine in the trending areas.

Reality

I don't know if no whale notices my any posts or they don't like them. I have never been to the trending page and my spent SBDs were too low to get me to this awesome section.

Well I'd apply the brakes to this post here. If you could relate to any of the points mentioned above please let me know. And if you have some other points that may add to this article please let me know below in the comments below.

Thank you so much for your time to check out this article. An upvote and a resteem if you like this would be appreciated.

Namaste!

Sort:  

This post has received a 1.9 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @neupanedipen

Courtesy of @aschatria this post received 100% FREE UPVOTE for quality post submitted to Die Hard Steemit Discord group. Thank you for being our valuable member and active content creator on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78