My Computer Died And I Ended Up Smiling: Why Backups Are Important

in #steemit7 years ago

When your computer's hard drive starts sounding like a Skrillex album, you know you are having some problems. After a couple minutes of crazy sounds and a few attempted reboots, the presiding technician called the time of death on my HP laptop.

After a few minutes of panic and unease, I realized that everything was going to be okay. I was simply left smiling. Why?

Backups are important. I can't imagine what I would be thinking right now if I hadn't done my chores and backed everything up.

Steemit

As you can tell, I'm still able to access Steemit, due to my key being stored in three secure locations... one of which is offline. I used that to log on with my wife's chromebook and make this post. I urge you to write down your key right now, even if you have before.

No key? No SP.

Bitshares

The access to all my BTS, HAIRSHARE, WHALESHARE, BEYONDBITS, GRIDCOIN, LFNCOIN, OBITS, VIRGROW, ZAPPL, BUILDTEAM, INSPIRATION and more would have been lost if I didn't have my bitshares information backed up. Make sure you have your BIN file and brainkey backed up if you are using the wallet model. If you're using the account model, make sure you have your password stored in multiple secure locations.

PeerPlays

This was the one that I panicked about briefly. I have my username and password stored in multiple locations, but I had no backup file for my PPY core wallet. I was assured that I can download a new wallet and my username/password will still work. I will update here if this isn't the case.

Bitcoin

This is one of the first times I've been happy that I had all of my meager Bitcoin holdings on an exchange. I had all of my Bitcoin on Bittrex for easy access to the BCH funds after the fork.

Photos/Videos

All of our media is stored in the cloud (the horror, I know), and we routinely print out and store memorable pictures in case of catastrophic failure.


Next up, I'm going computer shopping. Anybody have any recommendations?

I'm looking for a computer that meets my basic cryptocurrency, steemit and internet browsing needs. Budget isn't an issue, but I don't want to throw away money on features I don't need.

(Images via TheAlmostDone)

Sort:  

You maybe want to use a password manager to store all the login information securely. This file and also other important data stored safely and replicated. Maybe encrypt your laptop. But probably you already know all this. J

The golden rule for how many copies of your data you have is "n-1" where n is the number of independent storage devices that have copies of the data in question.

I started laughing so hard hearing your hard drive started to sound like skillex ahahahahahahaha. THANKS for this warning, i am gonna put my password some more places! hmmm. upvoted and reteemed.

Lol that's why you need to save some important files and keys in the cloud.

Some may not understand the good that backup does until they lost there important information that they can never see elsewhere. It has happened to me before and thought me hard lesson. I can never use a device without backing up all my folders.

I would have advice a computer but I'm not good in that to advice on a particular computer to use. All I know is all Apple PC are cool cos that's what I use. It's now depend on what spec you are looking at.

Very important and vital information. Thanks @nepd

This post has received a 1.64 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nepd.

When your computer's hard drive starts sounding like a Skrillex album

Hahaha you know something isn't ok.

Good info @nepd backups are really really really Important. Cheers!

Buy one hard drive SSD, and be happy, never die again your data.

I've got all important info backed up on exterior hard drives :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54