The magic finger (yea it's another bragging post, sorry)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

When you are curating, you have good days and bad days. Well, yesterday was a very good day!

  • Curation reward of 5.299 STEEM POWER for badassbarbie/steemit-hot-crack-coffee
    "wow"

  • Curation reward of 15.089 STEEM POWER for imaxess/welcome-to-imaxess-the-first-hospital-in-the-world-to-accept-steem-i-am-dr-eduardo-padilla
    "wooow!"

  • Curation reward of 36.563 STEEM POWER for paxmagnus/online-game-industry-veteran-turned-tech-entrepreneur-meets-the-blockchain
    "WHAO!!! a new record!"


Neoxian's magic finger in action

So what do you think? Is it time to give up the day job and become a professional mouse clicker? Hmm, ok maybe not.

100% Steem power post!


Logo by @vlad!

Sort:  

It was a great day for me too. Got a nice reward as well on the @paxmagnus intro after @jesta resteemed just past 30 minutes with a bit over $1.00 cumulative at the time. I up-voted at around low 30s time elapsed and eventually got > $15.00 in curation rewards. I had a good feeling on that one from the get-go.

Well done!

So what do you think? Is it time to give up the day job and become a professional mouse clicker?

Well a curator is much more than than when he aims at rewarding high quality.

I will give a try to upvote within 30 mins to test it out. Thanks.

Curation reward of 0.901 STEEM POWER for paxmagnus/online-game-industry-veteran-turned-tech-entrepreneur-meets-the-blockchain

my new record, too :)

Congrats! Yes, paxmagnus was a good one!

You're good man, you're good....

Well done! I am at a complete loss for how you get those results tho. Do you click immediately the second you see something with potential even if it's one minute old? Do you wait a certain time like 15 or 30 minutes exactly? All of my curation rewards are like .001 and .016 no matter how well the articles perform, and I refresh my feed umtpteen times daily when I'm home. Please share a trick or two!

Definitely don't vote on something that's less then 5 minutes old, that's almost never worth it. Try to wait until 15 minutes old if you can, up to 30 is ideal.

Thanks, that's almost exactly what I've been doing. Wonder why my results are so horrible tho ;

It's also based on your SteemPower. Curation is best done by those who have already accumulated some SP, large fish, small dolphins and above. If you are a minnow, you should concentrate on posting and use your votes on friends.

Thanks for the advice, I was about to give up curating at all because it seemed so pointless but I see it now. Explained in detail by @shenanigator's new doc :

I’m upvoting posts at the right time. Why am I not getting any curation awards?
The network essentially calculates curation awards based on the square of your Steem Power.
Note: There are other factors in play, but for simplicity’s sake we aren’t going to get into them here. These numbers are approximately correct.

Example:
Bob has 10 SP; the square is 100
Jim has 100 SP; the square is 10,000
In this example, Jim has only ten times more Steem Power than Bob, but Jim will get 100 times higher curation award than Bob, all other things equal.
Double your Steem Power, get 4x the curation award
Quadruple your Steem Power, get 16x the curation award
Increase your Steem Power by 100x, get 10,000x the curation award

Have you tried using different fingers to see if one finger gains more Steem than others?

Well I use a different finger for flagging...

I have noticed your post was flagged by R4fken, well known steemit hater.

I am for justice and I am here with all my Steem Power to help you resist his hate downvotes and let your post be visible for steem users. Upvoted!

@neoxian is a racist everyone flag him. He downvoted my post titled "Steemit needs more black people"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68401.94
ETH 3807.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52