Running steemit locally update

in #steemit8 years ago

Hello all,

Just a short update on my Dockerfile that lets you run steemit locally. I went ahead and made a github for it:
https://github.com/neoxian/steemweb

That way, when I improve it, I don't have to keep posting it. You'll definitely want to use the version from the github.

The fine Steemit devs have updated a bunch of things on the website lately that renders my Dockerfile out of date.
The file will now use version 0.1.161221 of the site, so it will be a bit old, but should work.

Also, I tried it running in a container on Windows and it..mostly works, but the pages are not fully rendered..it's strange actually. I'm not sure what's going wrong there.

If I get a chance, I'll try to see if I can update things to be more compatible with the latest Steemit web. @sneak had some ideas.

Happy steeming!

Sort:  

@neoxian
Follow
Regard PG

I noticed bob and empty root password for mysql. Would it be risky?

Yes that part is far from ideal but I'm just waiting for Sneak to fix the steemit docker and then you won't need mine anyway. I'll post an update when sneak fixes.

Thanks for the info.

So, after it's fixed, using it will be as easy as these steps?

docker pull steemit/steemit.com

docker run --name steemweb -p 8080:8080 steemit/steemit.com

Then browse to localhost:8080

Yes! I believe it will be that easy. That will be nice.

Our official prebuilt docker images:

https://hub.docker.com/r/steemit/steemit.com/

...and there is a Dockerfile in the steemit.com repo, too:

https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com

Your best bet for staying in sync/compatible/working is to fork our repo and base your changes off of our Dockerfile. For instance, today our master branch moved to node 7.5.x and yarn for packaging.

Be advised that in the future you're going to need to run more than one container to support the frontend. Right now all it needs is the frontend container and a running steemd, but in a month or two it's going to require use of two more services. One is sbds, our SQL-based blockchain indexer that is going to replace the tags indexing in steemd, and our communities implementation (which will be implemented as a small service) which is underway now.

We will, of course, provide a tidy little docker-compose file that lets you bring up the stack in a single command. :)

Docs please (installation etc).

//Edit: I didn't think it's easy. It seems I need to learn a bit more about Docker.

Yes will do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42