Question regarding HF 19: curation awards, do they improve too for the common fish?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello all,

I was discussing HF 19 with someone and talking about voting power and curation awards. I was under the impression that the common fish would see an increase in voting power (the ability to affect rewards) and would have a corresponding increase in curation awards as well. Is this true?

We were reading: https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/proposing-steem-equality-0-19-0-as-the-next-fork
The post mentions that curation awards will be switched to a square root curve and it included this cryptic quote:

We don't expect many people to see significant differences in their curation rewards using this curve.

What does this mean? Does this mean that the average fish will not see any significant curation awards (just like now)? Or will average fish's votes affect rewards more..and get better curation awards as well.

If anyone could clear this up for me, that would be great. I'll give you a full powered upvote, please include any hard data, code snippets or diagrams if you can.

@sneak
@vandeberg

Thanks!

edit: I removed someone's name because he complained about it.

Sort:  

This is the only actual breakdown that I've seen. The user with 50K SP under n^2 would allocate 0.9% of the STEEM that the 500K SP user would. With the linear algorithm, that same 50K SP user would allocate 9% of the STEEM that the 500K SP user would.

Of course, I don't know what numbers they're running, other than what is stated below. It would appear that allocation will be improved, but that doesn't necessarily mean that curation rewards would be. It depends on what's changed in the curation rewards algorithm. If they're aiming for similar results compared to how things are now, then I obviously wouldn't expect much to change.


thx for posting this so i can try and learn more

My understanding is that it would act as a compounding of the average users power. Instead of needing 40 100% votes to use up your power under the old system, I thought you could use it up basically in much fewer 100% votes....

I believe the percentage have dropped a bit the last few days.

Hopefully it is true and be true, i always choose you .. because you are the best ..

The way it is detailed seems to go along with the curation staying the same as today - as in whales see massive curation rewards, exponentially. It seems that post payouts will be changed - not curation rewards as much. The game theory becomes rather interesting if there is this mismatch in power.

Interested in the answer.

Hopefully my little fish also get influence

Those questions are so relevant to me too... I am new here so I will only be hoping answers from the replies too. Followed you, you seem to share very valuable contents. Hope to see more of your posts.

This is also a hot topic that needs to be debated well. My power to vote is so minimal that it does not make a change on a certain post. I hope we, as common fishes will be benefited from this change.

Also super curious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34