How to put encrypted text in your post

in #steemit7 years ago

How to put encrypted text in your post

Hey Steemit, have you ever wanted to put encrypted text in your post?
Well in this post, I'll show you how.

I'm going to use openssl from the command line in Linux. If you are in Windows,
then I'm sure it will work just fine using Cygwin (https://cygwin.com/)

Ok first we need some text to encrypt:

Roses are red
Voilets are blue
Encryption is fun
Scooby Dooby doo

We want to encrypt this using openssl and we want the output to be in human
readable ascii, so it will be easy to put into the post.
It also needs to be password protected, for this post we'll use the password :
"shark".

Place your input into a text file, in this case, we will create "poem.txt"

Here is the command line you want to use:

openssl enc -aes-256-cbc -in poem.txt -a -out result.txt

You will be prompted for the password. Obviously you need to save this password
somewhere safe.

The file result.txt will have this:

U2FsdGVkX1+N2/8UjDVpytGUxUSzxAxO0UABGzePPA/Bf5+Bf05eSFvKSQHqyOBQ
0EmO5Cvms6keAeFEWbHMy8iZSbnYM01f1loJPygxlKUk8gywSGqVe6X9GmNF8jpu

This text is easy to place in a post, like I just did.

Ok, now to reverse things, take that encrypted text above and place it in
"input.txt".

The command to decrypt it is:

openssl enc -aes-256-cbc -d -a -in input.txt

Run this, it will ask for the password, and then you will see the wonderful
poem.

Well that's it, now you are an encryption wizard. See if you can decrypt this:

U2FsdGVkX1+NWUDedZbDJvg4zRwXlNb2La3vlb1iBvgKhr0hDFTGlxICZrRXiV6j
CDnC+Q5NCBLnssFQCq7yL7CP2Bn2H4fWan1gD/NNgVPnjDdfc24WtxWqy5Zn49qc
ER1sskQwzJKKHrCllVBAwGQq4rREY3S3beSOXvL7MfhlQEN/pQN3CR51y8U69olS
0mP7pnLCXBnvoFnGgtkCEw==


(gif found online)

Sort:  

Congrats to @jlordc for being the first to crack the example code and claiming the prize!

Hello @neoxian, this is a confirmation of our talk.

I think this is it! Although I don't know what the key is.
Tried "shark" and didn't work. :)
Must have been other word.

keep trying

This is a great post for people who are interested in getting started with cryptography. You gotta start somewhere, encrypt something, then decrypt it, and presto you've begun! Thanks for posting :)

wow that's' something cool to learn thanks for it :D

I know jack about coding etc .. but I kinda feel geeky when I read stuff like this . Gives the impression that I'm some tech geek .. I wish !!!!

Never tried it before but will give it a try now :)

Within an moment of thought ponders many a plot who's would have caught your erroneous dot.

Very interest within the makings of a post
Thank you Kindly.

@neoxian,
Wow this is useful! I will try to encrypt few posts then!

Cheers~

A very interesting article, @neoxian. I have never tried encrypting anything before, but now I think I will play around with it, and give it a try. Upvoted! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66