Earning much better curation awards latelysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit,

I'd like to report that I've been earning much better curation awards lately:

Estimated curation rewards last week: 112.143 STEEM Power

https://steemit.com/@neoxian/curation-rewards

So at current prices, Steemit is handing me about 20$ a week to upvote some stuff (and I'm not even trying that hard)

Granted, I have powered up some recently, so that's part of the reason, but I'm sure this is mostly due to the experiment.

Before the experiment I was getting about 30 Steem power a week. In many ways, the experiment is a gift from the whales to dolphins and fish like me. My votes are worth at least 86 cents, which is amazing, and I'm getting good curation without even really trying that hard. The whales are giving up their curation awards so now the smaller fish can help themselves to whale-sized slices of the pie.

So is this worth the downsides? Worth the hurt feelings of a few who received flags? Are the whales the heros of Steemit who can make the tough choices, or are they just selfish scroundrels?

The price of Steem has shot up lately, but who can tell why right?

I'll admit it's hard to argue against the experiment when the system keeps slapping me in the face with 20 dollar bills.

Is this what life would be like under a flatter power curve? (Sorry I have lots of questions today, and not too many answers.)

edit: 86 cent votes

Sort:  

Out of curiosity I looked at mine too. I am just up voting here and there what I like as I always do and not treating it like a job.

I think the best I typically was getting was maybe 4 steem power per week. I am currently at over 12 steem power estimated for this last week. So at least 3x what I was normally getting.

That's what I've been doing.

Well paid curation job:))

Yes they saved steemit.

STEEM needs to maintain, for an extended period, a daily trading volume over 1 million. It's time.

I agree, more consistent. But then again I've been posting more partly because of it.

You are absolutely correct.

I don't know what I'm getting per week on steem power etc for curation before, but most of the time I see a 1ct when I vote added. Note that I'm just a super small fish, only 2kSP. Also I see curation rewards in the double digit (ie 0.0xx) instead of the 0.001 I saw before. I even see my post rewards going up since dolphins and minnows voting brings me cents per vote instead of (almost) nothing.

I truly think the Whales are great in what they are doing at the moment! And I thank all of them for sharing their rewards with us.

However, this is not sustainable and a solution shall be found. But for now, lets run this 'experiment' followed by maybe more experiments of different sorts and types and let us give that enough information to decide how to progress Steemit, rewarding and power distribution and other things that are important to do for growth of the whole community, service etc.

Still not a clear idea how this with upvoting work . Any way good job .

My vote on a zero dollar post is four cents, on this one I just slapped on 17 cents, and I'm still about 1600sp away from being a baby dolphin ;) I actually haven't even checked my curation lately but now I'm definitely curious!

Well you should take a peek.

I'm on a similar level to you, just casually voting, similar Steem Power levels. I'm seeing the same thing, much more curation rewards than previously.

Closer-to-linear reward pool seriously needs to be priority number 1.

Since the beginning I have tried to be good at curating, but this last week my rewards have dwarfed my totals so far. Definitely been reading a lot more Steemit content as a result, so everybody wins!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57668.08
ETH 2381.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42