Crowdfunded Steemit Project Car : Datsun 280zx... #1

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

What I wanted...

I've always wanted to gift myself a devil's Z (Datsun 240z, for those of you that aren't in the know) It's a little cliche but I first saw one in the anime series Wangan Midnight, I loved how an old Japanese car had been converted into a highway killing machine with it's high revving L28 engine and muscled up body to match it's power, giving this car cult status and making it a sought after vehicle for most JDM petrol heads


Source Link

So why haven't I bought one?

Answer is simple, they just aren't for sale around here. If I had to import one, I'd be spending a ton of cash and quite frankly I'd rather take that hard earned money and plow it into the mainstream JDM metal that I love collecting. Retail prices for a 240z range from $14,000 - $70,000 USD.


Source Image

Another idea

The Datsun 280zx, a much cheaper alternative with similar looks and can host an assortment of engines. So this got me thinking, maybe I should pick up a 280zx make it look similar to my childhood hero "Devil's Z" and slap in an engine that I'm familiar with. Perhaps something like an RB25 or go completely unorthodox and drop in a rotary. Either way this could make for an interesting ride.

Candidates?

A brief look at our local classifieds has found the following

  • A rolling chassis for sale at R9000 ($800 USD) It's a little on the dodgy side, missing a couple body parts and the car is for sale in a notorious township area called Khayelitsha. All that aside, it's missing papers which means it will be difficult to licence this car on the road. Sale Link
  • This one is in running order and looks to be quite neat, I'd probably feel bad bastardizing it but oh well! It's selling at R40000 ($3400 USD) Sale Link

Crowdfunded Steemit Datsun 280zx

This had me thinking, steemit is a powerful place and has been a great place for me to blog and post JDM content. That being said it could also be a place to generate revenue for a crowdfunded or JDM community project car.

I'd like to propose something different here. Any liquid SBD earned from this post will be used to purchase myself a 280zx project car, obviously one post is not going to do much help so I propose that I make a weekly post with regards to the Datsun 240/260/280 whether it is historical information or just random insight. An upvote and a resteem would obviously allow me to achieve my goal here and purchase a full funded steemit project car. Every now and again I'll boost my own posts using upvote bots from services such as @minnowbooster and @buildawhale to help me reach my goal sooner.

In closing

It would be an absolute privilege to choose, work and race a funded project car. Let's make this OUR car!

#Resteem and Upvote to fund the project


Source Image

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Nice! While my support might not be worth much, you have my support. Have you considered whether you want a coupe or a 2+2? Fun fact: In the Wangan Midnight live action movie, the Devil Z is a 2+2 once it's rescued from the scrap yard, but afterwards it's a coupe.

Thank you so much! Any support is good support :) Unfortunately I'm going to have to get the 2+2 model, I'd love a coupe but I have a feeling they either sold here in South Africa in very low numbers or they didn't bring them in at all. I'm yet to see a coupe for sale here. You just made me go and take a look at the movie again haha!

Good luck with your project. I hope you can fulfill your dream.

I rebuild an S14 for a while now. I like the idea of crowdfunding. Maybe i try it myself :)

DSC00959.JPG

Thanks so much! I'd love to get my hands on an S Chassis one day, I'll support you if you do it :)

That is a pretty good idea! Best of luck to you with that! Maybe you can use even more posts to cashout toward the goal.

I'm going to dedicate this weekly to the goal, the rest I'm saving and using to buy maintenance items and parts for the other cars :)

Re-steemed @nelkeljdm :)
I'll 100% upvote a reply to this comment to help the budget ;)

Thank you buddy!! Always appreciate your help :)

You would need a Twin Turbo carbureted L28 for it to be a real devil Z. =D

Haha true, it doesn't have to be as awesome as that. An RB25 or RB20 would be good enough :)

oh yea with out a doubt! The RB20 would be a interesting swap, I rarely ever hear about it, reminds me of the old school Ferrari's that had a low displacement like the F40 which a had twin turbo 2.9 liter V8.

I believe if you rotate the oil pan and pickup and use one mount from the automatic 280zx the RB20 is a straight drop in, I may go this route if this project kicks off... A screaming straight 6 short stroke engine with a decently sized turbo sounds like heaven to me

Dude, this got me doing a bit of research...that guy in the FS has a collection of over 100 Datsuns and Nissans (including every GTR from the Hakosuka to the R35). He's in Bothaville, and apparently anyone can view the collection by appointment. Do I smell a roadtrip brewing?

http://www.bizcommunity.com/Gallery/196/486/4426.html

That's so cool! 6.5hours drive, I'm sure we could rock it in 5 with a lunch stop :D Your STI would be perfect for this, loads of luggage space and comfort! Imagine you in my FD for that long, we would have to stop every hour for leg stretches! :D

0.20 $ from me :D

Thank you buddy, every cent counts :)

There is a 240Z for sale here going for around MYR230k i fnot mistaken, thats alot of money

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by NelkelJDM from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

UPVOTED & RESTEEMED
Build Threads Steemit 569x200.gif
PROMOTING CAR PROJECTS ON STEEMIT

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52