What do you WANT from me?

in #steemit7 years ago

I joined the steemit community just a couple days ago, due in large part to wanting to connect with my sister and brother-in-law ( @allforthegood and @bluerthangreen respectively) and follow what adventures they are having in life and living down in the homesteading mecca of Arkansas, a long way from where I currently am in central Wisconsin. 

I saw some of their success in earning steem/sbd/steempower from some very informative and well-written stories from both of them.  

From that, I saw parts of their life that I wouldn’t have been aware of otherwise, both successes and failures.  I saw their wallets, and their earnings, and felt like I was missing out. 

I felt jealous. I felt ignorant. 

I was envious of the community they are fostering online for themselves, and also locally (physically in real life) with their neighbors and like-minded individuals, due in large part to their investment in steemit.com.  

So, burning some of that ignorance and jealousy as fuel, I did some research, validated the legitimacy of the steem platform, and started my own account.  

Since we all want to succeed, and the best yardstick for success is money (either BTC, USD, or Steem ;), I asked myself, what do you want from me? What does Steem want from me in order for me to be successful?  

Should I have written my introduction as a dating profile (‘this is me, love me, please’), should I have written it as an autobiography (‘in the beginning, I was born’), or should it be more like I’m trying to be someone else (‘I’m a cool dude, oh look how cool I am’). 

I was afraid that I had nothing to offer, nothing to say, and nothing of value to give. That alone would be a fearful discovery. 

What does Steem want from me?  

We all get different things out of a platform like this. It helps us discover our own voice and give us reason to say the things we’re thinking and try new thoughts, and to entertain the thoughts and ideas of others. The dangling carrot of a few bucks in exchange for our own private research and voyage of self-discovery is just icing on the cake. 

The alternative, using venues like Facebook or Reddit or other platforms, is to plant your seeds on rocky ground (to loosely paraphrase Matthew 13) . You blast out some pithy statement, photo, or observation, and measure your success in ‘likes’ and ‘friend requests’. Great for mild family and friend communication, but less successful in true sharing of ideas, and far less profitable.  

What does Steem want from me?  

After a bit more thought, I realized that is the wrong question.  

What do I want from me? 

That’s the real question.  Each of are triggered by an external something, and our response to that pushes us either towards success, or towards anger, or towards fear. It’s up to each individual to choose how they will use these triggers, and what rewards they will reap from it, if any. 

If steemit is that trigger, then I am the finger.  

So, I am choosing to use this platform to describe myself and firm up my own perceptions of what I know, what I can do, and what I want to do. I will use my steemit.com posts as a means to show others what I know, and perhaps encourage or intrigue or inform them as well. I will use steemit.com as an excuse to force myself to try things I can all too easily talk myself out of if it’s just me in my own head saying the words.  

And if I earn a few steem bucks doing it, that’s ok too.   

Sort:  

Your post is very interesting! I am just a newbie here. And why do your post have so many vote? When I using some 3th party app to search for the most voting number and your post appeared! It is very wonderful! May I know how do you do that? It is very amazing!

I admit that I do not know. That was only my second post, and I don't think I did anything special to get the votes. I would like to think it is because my post was so amazing and awesome :)

I like your thoughts. "What do I want from me" is the question we should ask ourselves more often then we do. Thanks!

Great post how can it be so many votes but so little $$$ that does not compute even with HF19

I wish I knew. If I had 1700 whales upvoting me, I'd be rich right now.

It's interesting how when you are forced to put your feelings and perceptions to written word how it makes them more solid in your mind. That's the real value of Steemit, I think.

Good post. That's how I feel about it too. It's fun to see the rewards, but the replies are just as valuable. Also, I find I'm using my design software and being intentional about things just because Steemit is causing me to be about my business.

I think anything that 'forces' you to do something that is inherently good for you (building character, building skills, interacting, etc) is itself a good thing. It's so easy to ignore that internal guilt about allowing yourself to slowly slide into laziness and drifting, so anything that causes you to hoist yourself up is valuable.

Yes, unless of course you cause yourself to be unhappy by unrealistic expectations of yourself--see here. :p But seriously, you are right. For me, beyond the design stuff, I'm talking to other people more and "getting out there" in a virtual way. It's helpful when you are surrounded by little voices all day.

Very insightful. I like the way you write, sir! I'd follow you and upvote your post even if you weren't related to me.

Maybe someday I can repay your kindness with pennies. I'll bury you in pennies.

that's a lot of pennies. Deal!

Nice post, Pete. A great way to introduce yourself without a lot of hoopla. I like your images with the Steemit logo and quotables. Did you create them yourself? Yes, anything that can compel us to write more, communicate something of value to others more, and to even cement our own ideology more is a good thing. I don't think Steemit is a get-rich quick scheme, but the Steem dollars concept does provide a pretty good yardstick to measure not only the value of each individual piece of content, but also consistency in delivering it, and follow-up interaction with the community. Have fun while you're here, and I look forward to seeing more of your ideas!

Thanks for the comments :) I did indeed put together those images. 25 years of web development work gives me a few usable skills, at least.

I agree, I don't think most people are going to get rich here, but the effort is worth it for it's own sake.

Perhaps not so much monetarily, but in other ways...

Hi Matt, glad to see you out here too. Great work! I can think of two other people who might be ready to join and also introduce themselves, can you?

My two cats?

Yes except we already introduced them through your posts. Plus we should probably near it down to those with opposable thumbs for easier typing

You're right. My cats don't have thumbs. Or lips.

Nice story bro

Nice educative post hope to hear more from you
by the way I will follow you hope you do same

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17