You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have Your Say - The State of Steemit this Christmas (best comment wins 10 SD worth of SP)

in #steemit8 years ago

Good comments all around. To add one observation, I think there's a significant recency bias in the rewards system. The most significant payouts only come in the first 24 hours (and to a lesser extent in the 30 days after), so "old" but "good" content gets forgotten. There is very little incentive to promote/upvote content older than 30 days even if it's way better than all of the recent material. I think this is a serious impediment to upping the quality of the content on the platform. When I'm reading regular blogs, I often don't stumble upon the best material until it's been posted for months or even years. But it's still gold.

Not quite sure how to deal with or think about this problem. If you know of any past articles/posts that have addressed this issue, I'd love to read them.

Sort:  

Great point. A lot of people have brought this up but I can't remember any proposed solutions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50