A question for all Steemians! Planning Giveaways soon! Wondering how the idea sits with the Steemit community... Please help!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I have been thinking about this for the past two days after seeing an abundance of posts that were offering $1- $5 SBD giveaways on their blogs for people who would resteem, comment and upvote their post. The winners to be chosen through a "lucky draw" and hence the process would be totally random - in most of them anyways.

So here's my current dilemma, with Steemit being a community with a lot of unspoken rules I'm not sure how this idea would sit with the community at large, by the whales or my followers by this point in time. The idea of giveaways, for me, is one that helps minnows develop their user base by gaining more followers and coverage on their posts. However this can also be seen as someone just "buying" followers the wrong way. The same idea could also be used by someone who wants to post mediocre content but wants to gain a large enough following for enough curation rewards each day.

I think bloggers who are really serious about the platform prove it through the strength of their content. I always believe in posting more quality over quantity since it's good to have a few good people in your circle who really appreciate your work rather than a bunch of them who don't even know what you're talking about. In such a case I pose this question to the Steemit community.. If I start a giveaway contest to gain more of a reputation and more followers, would that be cool? If yes then I'd like to add a little bit of my own flair to the giveaway contests - meaning they won't be based on luck since I think that's no merit to throw away SBD on.

Any who, I don't have many followers as of this moment so I'm not sure how many of you read this, but those of you who do please let me know your thoughts down in the comment section below! If you liked this article and want me to get a bunch of opinions on this issue please upvote, resteem and follow me @naufil

maxresdefault.jpg

I also write about Tech, Fiction, History, Sports and much more!

Sort:  

Yes what you say is true, all contest on steemit now requires upvote, comment and restem, very few will not ask you to upvote or to resteem. And i think such standard is not helping we the newbies, we only want to win the contest and nothing more. Suxh idea do not help most people to be able to develop themselves

Exactly my thoughts too @dgp! Most of my articles go unnoticed by anyone at all (even though a lot of time and effort goes into them) and its the worst. But I hope there are remedies for this soon enough. Also newbies can always help each other out and together we can achieve more! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57