You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The power of manual curation is quite evident on Medium.com

in #steemit6 years ago

I'd be interested to see these charts going back a few months more. Medium has been around a lot longer than Steemit, and if it recently introduced a payment scheme, that in itself might explain its recent increase in ranking. I think a lot more people are aware of Medium than Steemit, because it's more established. Though I certainly take your point about manual curation.
However, bear in mind that Steemit rewards curation as well as blogging. Does Medium do that? I'm not really familiar with Medium.com, but I suspect that Steemit has more going for it in the long term than Medium.

Sort:  

On this page:

https://siterankdata.com/medium.com

You'll find a chart going back to 2013. It looks like 450 is where it started to level off after opening Medium.com. There is a clear leap around 2017 and it's been hold well since then.

In March of 2017, Medium introduced paid subscriptions. In August of last year, they introduced pay per clap, too. There seems to be a good correlation between the jump from 325 to 261 since they introduced author payouts, but I think that they were a strong site from the beginning.

I did change my tune in the last couple of days, thanks to comments here and posts elsewhere...

https://steemit.com/steemit/@digitalfirehose/steem-integration-transaction-demand-and-bitcoin-shorts

Thanks for your comment...

Thanks for the info. I've commented on your latest post too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45