100 DAYS OF STEEM : Day 43 - Friday Challenge - 3 Ways To Improve My Local Area

in #steemit4 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

It is yet another beautiful day and in partaking the 100 Days of Steem Challenge i would like to introduce you to my small beautiful town in Kumasi, Ghana. Atwima Boko is small town within the Atwima Kwanwoma District under Kumasi Metropolis. Am not certain of the population but if am to estimate i would probably say 1000, maybe it would be less or more, i cannot really ascertain because most often than not am in school studying and it has been about 4 years since we moved to our home here by that time, i was in my second year and am currently about to start my 6th year in September. But in all it is indeed a small town, with almost everyone knowing the other, whiles it not far from town it more or less a new site as we like to call it because people are now putting up their houses and the places truly needs lots improvement to bring it to modern standards, irrespective i love the beautiful scenery it beholds and serenity of the environment so much so that i tend to feel nostalgic sometimes when am in school.

IMG_0164.jpg

My Suggestions to Improvement

I am very certain that if i do not move on i will end up describing my town to very tiny bits of detail and i certainly can not spend my whole night behind the laptop because although i do not have anywhere to go tomorrow because of corona i still need my beauty sleep to stay healthy. So let me move on to the first thing i would like to discuss.

IMG_0162.jpg

Road Construction

I am sure from the images attached you could already see the dusty road in all the images. The minister of the district could really do much to bring about bitumen on our road here. As a student optometrist i can go on and on about the detrimental effect of dust been in the air all the time, the diseases and condition it springs forth not only for the eye but general health but then i do not want to bore with to much health talk (If you love health topic you may follow me for regular interesting topic discussion). With this change it would truly improve the health of the general population here and take the community closer to modern development and into making it a town not that is not already but am sure you get my point.

IMG_0158.jpg

Refuse Dump System

This is something that concerns me all the time because of the health hazard it poses should things go south and not be taken care of but for now it not as bad as it could be, we could however improve it though. There no refuse collection or dumping system because of which most houses just collect the rubbish and burn it in their homes. Others also bury them. The issue with this however is that the population would increase with time and the refuse collection would increase, this will bring more air pollution as the lot burn their refuse. Am thinking of creating a start-up out of this to make a business for myself but procuring a trash car or vehicle to go round and pick up the refuse would be extremely costly although i do not know the price. I doubt my small earnings from steemit can get that done. (spoiler: as i student the blockchain is my work and monthly withrawals is my payment plan)

IMG_0167.jpg

Community Health Center

Whiles my town may not be the biggest and or most populated of them all, i still believe that every town deserves to have a health center. Our proximity to the city may be good or close but it does not mean people could not loss their lives as result of our lack of health care facility. I do understand that the community is still under massive development and that a lot may be done in the near future but then it one of the things i would really seek for my area to improve it.

image_123923953.JPG

Conclusion

So there you have it, 3 important things to me as at now that i would seek to do to improve my area. It was nice getting the opportunity to talk about my town and for that i say a big thank you to @steemitblog. I look forward to the next challenge. Until we meet again have wonderful time.

Images were taken with an iphone 6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81