My Gratitude to Steemit and the Mighty Steem Currency – Overcoming a Second Bout of CancersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Cover image

I wrote a post several months back about my previous experience with cancer [link]. What I didn't mention in that post, and why I felt the need to write it in the first place was that the cancer had returned, 15 years later. I have been absent from Steemit for the last couple of months dealing with this recurrence. I have kept an eye on the goings on here a few times, but mostly I just didn't have the energy to participate at my previous levels.

However, this is not a post designed to present bad news. The point of it is to highlight the positive role the Steem currency (as well as many other crypto currencies) have played in helping me get back on my feet.

And what a difference 15 years make. Back in 2002 when I first was diagnosed, the whole experience bankrupted me – literally. I was financially wiped out. This time my crypto portfolio - especially the Steem I had on account – has kept me going without that same level of financial stress to consider. I have had the good fortune to support myself and still see the value of my portfolio grow, such is the growth of the cryptos at the moment.

One of the more prudent decisions I made was to purchase quite a bit of Steem around the ten cent mark. I have had to let go of a lot of that since, but like I said the incredible price increase has made such a difference. One of the things that I learnt from my previous experience with cancer is the role stress plays, and how detrimental it can be. I believe the severe reduction in my stress levels this time around (mostly due to the performance of the cryptos) has contributed to helping me move forward and keep a positive outlook.

So here's to Steemit, the Steem currency, and cryptos in general – they're putting power back into the hands of the people.

enter image description here

Sort:  

If there were a single reason that contributed to chronic afflictions, cancer being one of them, I would definitely say stress. Even over nutrition. Way to go, keep up your positive outlook and you will definitely feel the results! Also, I have a good documentary for you that will surely inspire you: it is called "Crazy Sexy Cancer." Found generally through google and youtube. Well worth your time and future.

Thanks for the information, I will look into it. As for stress, yes I do think it has the capacity to do great damage to our bodies. Why it's so important to manage it. Which I seem to be doing this time around. I appreciate the comment.

There are really amazing things on Steemit, and this is the result of the presence of the amazing people here like you who are struggling.

Thanks for your comment. Steemit is a great community, and it's expanded so much even in the last 3 months. It makes for a very diverse experience, for all of us.

Been wondering why I haven't heard from for a while.... Now I know... Hope you are hale and hearty now... Peace be upon you

Thanks for your message. Yes I have been absent some time, although feels like a lifetime! Hopefully I will be around more often in the days to come. All the best to you.

Have you heard of MMS? we are ordering this from Oz to UK. it have treated a lot of people with CA. It's great to hear that you are doing well regardless :)

Thank you @immarojas. I have heard of MMS, but not for cancer. I will follow up on this information.

I was trying to remember this guy's name, Jim Hubble. You can e-mail him. Cheers!

Thank you :)

Oh, man! We missed you on here! Sorry to hear that it recurred, but it's great to hear that you have beaten it once again. Mate, I'm so proud of your achievement. Your willpower is something to behold. I wanted to thank you for resteeming a previous chapter, but you didn't have any posts I could comment on, now I'm just so happy you're alive and well so that I could thank you for your support and everything that you do.

Lay off the sugar, and try to keep your body from being too acidic. I'm sending all of my positive vibes to you. I know you can beat it totally, and you're going to get back on your feet 100% to tell the tale of your victorious conquest. Head up, chest out and keep breathing. We're all rooting for you, mate!

Thanks @jedau, it's great to hear from you. I fell behind on your story, but it's good to see you still going strong with it. The need to avoid sugar and acidity is good advice and I agree with you. Thank you for reminding me. This is why I mentioned the role of stress as it can also produce an acidic environment within the body. I have noticed this having two different experiences to compare. Having the cryptocurrencies to support me was a godsend.

Don't even worry about that, mate. Just focus on getting strong. The story will be there when you get back. Relax, and let the healing in. I believe in your full recovery, so just steady your thoughts on that.

teamaustralia, followed

Cheers mate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52