Bo Sanchez' Kerygma Conference (KCON) & Why you should attend it!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is my first post in relation to the lists of my contribution to the Steemit Community. If ever you wanted to know more, please feel free to have a glimpse of my introduceyourselfpost.

Disclaimer: This post is made basing on my own personal experience with the 2017 Kerygma Conference in Cebu, City. This is a late post and is written on year 2017 reference. Hoping for you to bear with me. 

What is Kerygma Conference?

Kerygma Conference is an annual inspirational and learning event led by the Light of Jesus Family under the leadership of Bro. Bo Sanchez. The first Kerygma Conference was held in 2007 with more than 5,000 attendees. It has grown quickly year-on-year with attendees coming from the Philippines and all over the world.
Source

Who is Bo Sanchez?

Source


Maybe you already know him before you get to read this post. Nevertheless, let me give you a small introduction about him.

Bo Sanchez is...



Source

Eugenio Isabelo Tomas Reyes Sanchez Jr. or widely known as Bo Sanchez, a best-selling author, entrepreneur, Catholic lay preacher and minister. He is known as the "Preacher in Blue Jeans".
Source

He is the founder of one of the religious communities in the Philippines, the Light of Jesus Family. The community, as of 2016, has 35,000 members in the Philippines and the rest of the world.
Through this, he founded two gatherings, the annual inspirational convention Kerygma Conference (which was founded on 2006) and the weekly fellowship and worship called "The Feast" in 200 areas in the country and other parts of the world.
Source

He is a great financial evangelist not just in the Philippines but in the whole world, who believes that abundance is for all of us! It is from him that I learned that the main purpose of financial wealth is to help more people and to bless our relationships. He has brought so much influence to my life that inspired me to strive more and improve more.

The Kerygma Conference Experience

  • Theme
    Annually, the event has its own theme to focus. So basically, you really have something to be excited for each year! KCon2017 theme is "COMMITED". I may have not attended the previous other Kerygma Conferences, but this first time experience is enough for me to crave and look forward for the next KCON!


  • Framework
    2017 KCon has a unique set-up. They've given the audiences three different streams to choose. (How awesome!)
    •Family and Wellness
    •Youth
    •Business and Career

    According to Bro. Bo in his talk, it is the first time that they pushed this kind of framework to further address the audience needs.
    As for me together with my boyfriend, we chose the "Business and Career" streams in line with our hopes to learn more about business and investing and to also gain insights for our career.

Why you should attend it?


•You'll appreciate Service

If you're that kind of person who doesn't want to be out of place and wants to feel welcome, here's a great place to experience such!

As we arrived at the venue, we were welcomed by smiling and accommodating usherettes. They guided us as to what we're going to do so we could go inside our respective streams.

As the event started and continued, I have observed friendly co-attenders. It's as if I can connect to them without hesitation and doubt. Well, the event itself will give you free hugs, free taps on the shoulder and free "It's no accident to have you here" from your seat mates and other people, now who wouldn't love that?

•Smell of Positivity and Hope in the Place


I do not know if it's just me or what, but really as I entered the hall of "Business and Career" stream (it was already worship time because we were late by about 5 minutes), I couldn't contain my happiness that tears started to flow. I couldn't thank God enough for the opportunity to witness and attend event such as KCon. The place is full of hope and positivity from millennials to other generations. Young and old are gathered in the hall to join and really involved themselves in the activities, they engaged themselves in the talks and are really focused to get something out from the program.

•Be enlightened by successful people


Though we might have different definitions for successful people, but in KCon, when I said "successful people", I meant about well-developed people who are into service and making other people successful too. They have already proven themselves in their respective fields that have put them in the rightful place to enlighten other people. They are also people who have been in worse situations and found way out with humility and willingness to uplift others.

•Get to know great speakers that are authors at the same time


Before joining the event, I only know Bo Sanchez and other non-Filipino authors that write about topics that interests me. Oh! Behold! After the event, I was astonished to know that there are a lot of authors in circle with Bo Sanchez that are also good in the areas that I have been constantly reading.

Arun Gogna

Jon Escoto

Dean Pax Lapid

Aaaand me and my boyfriend couldn't stop ourselves but purchase some books in the booth there plus book-signing with the authors.


With Dean Pax Lapid

With Jon Escoto

These above mentioned authors are the speakers in the "Business and Career" stream. There are also other speakers from the different streams whom I haven't known.

And the Highlight of the event!!!!
•GOD IS THERE!!!

I cannot put into words how amazing it is to be there! To be shared with God's words and to see people who are epitome of God's grace. In the event, I was enlightened. It changed me into a different person that sees another perspective when it comes to money, challenges and even with quarter-life crisis. I was blessed there in so many levels!

The greatest lesson that I've gained in the event is to learn to be patient. In everything that we do, we have to wait for some time to see it bloom and flourish. We have to be determined and we have to clear our mind when it comes to targets and goals. Best things can not be made overnight and we have to be willing to wait for it as we work for it. We have to be COMMITED!

Bo Sanchez shared in his closing remarks about the first miracle of Jesus at the wedding in Cana,

Source

(these can be not accurate as this is just according to my notes from the event)

During that time, wedding celebrations go for a week, and at the later part of the celebration the host ran out of wine. That was the time Jesus had his first miracle, and the people who stayed long enough tasted the best wine.

So, let me ask you... Are you willing to stay long enough for the best wine?

I cannot enumerate one by one the things that I have learned, perhaps that could be yours to discover and I challenge you to experience the next KCON this year 2018 with the theme LIMITLESS. May we join together and be LIMITLESS in our own little ways.

Though it is founded in 2007, I've known about this event year 2014 and this year KCon2017 is my first of the many KCons to attend! This year I managed to get a ticket ahead of time with a help of a friend who is working under Bo's The Feast organization in Cebu. If ever tickets will be available through him, I'll post again to inform you given you'll be interested.


Thank you so much for bearing with me. Hoping to see you soon on my next posts my beloved reader, it is because of you that drives me to write more <3


Sort:  

Thank you @nikkabomb! Ikaduha nimo <3 heheh

humble kaayu arman, @namranna uy! Lovelots! :*

Nice article @namranna.
You're such a good writer :)

Thank you for the compliment @jhon21! We all are good writers here. ;) Good thing steemit is created for us aspiring writers. Aja!

"Be enlightened by succesful people"

I like how you chose the word enlightened instead of just educated.

It suggests a rather powerful and complete experience! Will be watching your blogs to be updated of kerygma events! And I hope to join you in this event soon.
:)

During the time that I attended the event, enlightened is the best word that I could think of. It's as if they're telling you important things in many aspects including experience together with God's words. The experience is not limited to the technicalities as to why I haven't thought of the word "educated".

Thank you so much for appreciating @jcvertucio! Hoping to see you soon also in this year's Kerygma Conference. I can guarantee that it would be a life-changing event if you put focus on it to bits.

Thanks for sharing. It sounds really inspiring. I've known about KCON for several years now but never had the chance to attend. This 2018, I'll definitely attend.
Did you go to the event for the whole 3 days? or just 1 day?
Arun Gogna is one of my favorites, genuinely funny guy.

I am living in Cebu and no matter how much I wanted to have a longer time for KCon, only one day event is available for the KCON2017, unlike in Manila. So, I attended 1 day only. I really suggest and encourage you to attend! Such an amazing and life-changing event it is. :)

Wow @jazzhero! Really, Arun Gogna is so funny! even in KCON2017 inCebu, he dropped down himself on the stage as part of his talk and left the crowd laughing HAHHA. Also, even in his books in the "about the author" part, you could read there "A very funny preacher".

I am really convinced now. Haha. thanks! I'll book really really early this time.

Ah, so it's only 1 day in Cebu? 3 days would have been awesome, maybe next year it'll be 3 days in Ceb and Dav too. KCon 2015 even had Regine and Ogie on worship night on day 3.

Really enjoy Arun's talks too. One of the best speakers in PH, I believe.

Yey! So good to hear that @jazzhero! Looking forward to hear your KCON experience soon. Yes, it's only 1 day in Cebu. Hoping they'd consider making it 3 days, or 2 days would be fine next time.
Thank you so much!

heeey man if naay available ticket, please tell me huhu

Super sure @smaeunabs!!! Will do inform you gyud 😍

Congratulations @namranna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63119.91
ETH 2695.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56