What will Steemit be 5 years from now? A complaint blog

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So, I have been on Steemit for about a month now and I'll be honest, I have enjoyed it immensely. I liked the ease in which I was able to acclimate to posting and interacting with other Steemians. I tried a few of the challenges and those proved to be very useful and fun at the same time.

I like the fact the we have control over curation and upvotes and so on. But with that comes my fear and apprehension is bringing to stem from. As I enjoy reading the works of others and casting my upvote and commenting accordingly, I have started to see more and more of junk or bot comments and post that make me feel that some are trying to place this on the MySpace or Facebook path. I would not want that for Steemit. Yes social media is great and connects up all but, it makes me fear that the over reliance on bots and just worrying about getting upvotes really dilutes the importance of this platform. Again, I'm just typing out load, and I might be alone in this, but as a Steemian, I feel comfortable enough to share with my fellow curators.

Back to the dilution of the content, when I read the content here, I feel that I am connected to a person on the other end of the screen and are able to share our ideas and thoughts freely. And if I do in fact like what I read, I can signify that by uprooting and commenting. Now with the increase in the usage of bots, this relationship is becoming tainted and less real. I'll equate this to hyper inflation. What is that, we when we print out more money and introduce into the market the actual value is diminished, and that is what I feel might be the path the Steemit is on and I would really hope the Steemit is what it is today tomorrow.

Whew, now that that is off my chest, I understand that I am still just a total newbie and not as prevalent as other Steemians that have been here longer as well as live and breath Steemit, but that is why I like it here, all voice can be read and feedback given.

Now if I am way off track here and my fear is unfounded then please do let me know and set me straight. I love a good discussion.

IMG_0395.JPG

I want to thank @alao for introducing me to the platform and @ealbania for their continued support.

Thanks.

Sort:  

yes there are lots of bots but. lots of real accounts too! i feel it will pay off in the end.

I sure hope so.

I write a lot about ways Steemit could become a better platform. In the end I feel like we just have to give the developers time to do their thing. It's a lot easier to come up with an idea than it is to implement it.

In 5 years Steemit should look nothing like it is now. Blockchain tech is very 'evolve or die.'

My fear too , well said. You are so much better with words than I am. Keep posting poetry, I love it.

Agree..one has to relax and enjoy the space on Steemit..inspiration flows when you focus on what you enjoy!

Soy nuevo en Steemit, y hoy mismo estuve pensando en eso que tu hablas. Pero siento que Steemit es y será una plataforma con un gran crecimiento que las personas reales son quienes tendrán más presencia en Steemit.

Aun me queda mucho por aprender así que estoy abierto a escuchar cualquier comentario o sugerencia.

Saludos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68872.12
ETH 2524.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53