Sort:  

Well its to increase steempower and to earn more from your posts. Spend money to make money.

Ah fair enough! Still trying to understand how it all works to be honest. I'm more enjoying reading the articles that I find on here than in the news or FB feeds :)

Facebook is more like who you know for a news feed ya know. I guess the same goes here but there is always the keywords. What did you not understand about steemit?

What I think I'm trying to understand more is about steempower I guess and how it effects me when I vote for someone or when someone votes for me. I guess this part is just not clicking yet and I probably just need to do a bit more reading on it all :) but yes you're right in terms of FB - even though I follow a lot of different "news", or what used to be news and now it's pretty much just recycled garbage

Well steempower gives you voting power. You can check your % at www.steemd.com/@username or with steemvoter. When people vote for you you get a % of that earning based off you steempower. The more steem power the bigger % you can get from your up votes as well as being an author. Up votes work about the same way. Its based on your steem power and also who up votes after you is how you curate rewards. I am not sure on max % you can earn from posts. I agree about facebook. never really used it honestly. I used myspace way back then before it. Guess i got over social media until tsu and steemit came around. tsu is gone though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52