Steemit is helping me overcome Writers Block

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Like many of you here I have a dream, to become a great author. Whether it be through writing my own books or publishing articles on websites, I want to be someone that can express a great deal though writing.

When I was a kid I used to spend hours upon hours drafting out paragraphs and brainstorming story plots. I had no shortage of ideas, most of them never came to anything but it didn't matter, because at least I was thinking of something.
Fast forward to the present day; I'm now 21 and haven't touched by big folder of story ideas in nearly 2 years. Even before those then I would only pick it up and read a few pages. This is because 2 years ago I suffered from a major case of Writers Block. All of those ideas I used to have seemed to have been sucked out of my head and lost forever; At least until I stumbled across Steemit.

This great, shining, beacon of hope was exactly what I needed to overcome my block. In the first few days I spent hours reading posts, finding anything that looked vaguely interesting. I then went on to start publishing my own and where they might not have been overly successful, I didn't care, because for the first time in a very long time I was actually doing something; I was actually taking steps to becoming what I want to be.

This is continuing to happen and as the days go by I'm finding it easier and easier to come up with topics to talk about whether they be current trend topics or something to do with my personal interests. I feel the effort I'm putting in is starting to rise but it doesn't feel like it, because i'm enjoying it.

I hope you enjoyed reading this almost blog style post.

Sort:  

Never give up on what you want to do. Even if you might not know it, just by doing this you will become more skillful by the day.

Looking forward to what you have to say.

Thanks for the kind words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67