How I'm giving back to Steemit: Mountain's Minnow Guide and New User Support

in #steemit6 years ago

Considering how much Steemit has done for me, I like to do something to give back to the community whenever I can. My favorite way of doing so is by hopping into the introduceyourself tag every couple of days and sharing my minnow guide with new users, as well answering any questions they might have. Retaining new users is one of the bigger challenges that this platform has- it can certainly be intimidating, to say the least. Not to mention the tiny payouts new users tend to get have a tendency to make them lose enthusiasm quickly. So I figure that even a little bit of help can go a long way.

image.png
[Image source]

On top of sharing my minnow guide, I've been selecting a number of promising new users to buy @steemitbasicincome memberships for. For anyone looking for a quick way to improve a minnow's experience, this is a great choice- each share you buy someone else also gains you a share, and you both start getting permanent upvotes.

I've also been introducing a few of my friends to steemit- in fact, my college buddy @justinlev7 just joined after I introduced him to the platform. Check out his intro post and say hello! Expect to see more of my friends joining the platform soon.

I like to think that I've given at least a few new users the help they need to succeed on here- I know I never would have succeeded on this platform if it hadn't been for the excellent advice of @kennyskitchen, who introduced me to Steemit.

Attached below is my guide for new users- I like to put it in a post like this once a month or so people can give me feedback and let me know about any services that should be added to the list.


@Mountainwashere's Guide for New Users:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The biggest secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so try to have a regular posting schedule. You should also be sparing with resteems- only do it for really important posts. (I resteem a post once a month or less, generally.)

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be a photo of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

There are a lot of really good resources out there for plankton and minnows (new users). You should check out the following groups and services, they offer a lot of valuable resources:

@thesteemengine (Check this one out first- they're an extremely supportive group that can help out in a lot of ways.)
@qurator (These guys offer an excellent liftime upvote to accounts that post consistent quality content.)
@steembasicincome (Another lifetime upvote option.)
@steemstem (The biggest and best STEM curation group in the game. If you're interested in writing or reading about science, check these guys out!)
@geopolis (A fairly new science curation group, this one's dedicated to the study of the Earth.)
@ocd (A curation group that seeks out undervalued new writers.)
@photocontests (Runs contests and provides other support for photographers.)

Much of the activity on steemit actually takes place off Steemit, on places like steemit.chat and discord. Learning to use them is a great idea.

If you haven't already, make sure to check out the official Steemit FAQ.

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way to success through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other plankton & minnows you run into (though I'd appreciate it if you credit me.) If it was useful to you, feel free to check out my posts and give me a follow!

Sort:  

Thanks for the resources. It's certainly one of the biggest issues… if people do sign up then getting them to stay is a tough one unless they build community and see a little coming back for their work…

I'm no minnow (I think) and yet the resources list is still useful to me. Will be looking into them soon.

Happy to hear it!

Thanks for this. My motivation was slipping away a few weeks ago, but I found a way to keep things in view. Writers liker you have been helpful.

I once used a @steemstem tag and didn't get an Upvote or even a visit from them. Is there something else to be done to get upvotes from these platforms (such as @steemstem and others) apart from just adding their tags?

Steemstem has really high standards for their upvotes- make sure you're following their standards exactly when you post. I took a look at your Stephen Hawking obituary- you don't have a bibliography, which they do require. They have tons of people trying to get their upvotes, so they tend to only select the highest quality posts. Just keep working on your writing quality and adherence to their standards if you want to get their vote. They're also on break right now, so they're not upvoting currently.

I think I was initially wary of some of these groups that help you with upvotes as it seemed initially the opposite of how I expected it to work here. And I wasn't sure what Steem connect was at first, being worried about using my password for anything. Thanks for these links. I would at least like to see more people reading my posts after the time I've spent putting into them.

Yeah, audience interaction is definitely its own reward!

I think a lot of people will benefit from this post. New users are often lost and make some mistakes when starting. Your guide provides useful information on how not to get lost on our little steemit journey. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!

Guides and knowing how to properly navigate through steemit are always good to have for reference. I know when I started it seemed as though the guides and tips were limited.

I had the good fortune to be introduced to the platform by @kennyskitchen, who did a great job of showing me the ropes.

In my opinion, we could motivate minnows and plankton to stay on steemit, if they see that the platform is truly rewarding, where their post are earning, and bigger fish is really voting for them.

Yes, many steemians battle cry is quality content, but in facebook and in twitter and other social media they earn likes and thumbsup, even from silly things they post, and that keep them motivated to use the platform.

What I mean is, that bigger fish seldom upvote minnows to share their earnings. They don't give, nor share the wealth of their steempower.

If only these bigger fishes tend to share/give/upvote more post in steemit, surely new entrants to the platform will be more motivated to produce quality content.

What do you think?

Retention on steemit has its moments and lulls. We see an influx one or two weeks then it slows up some- @arcange does posts about the members incoming, etc all the time and you can see what weeks are better than others. I read his posts and look at the charts to see what's going on periodically.

And I agree with @mountainwashere's comment to you- I've also had whales stop in and give me a boost at times. I'll admit it does keep me more motivated than days when that doesn't happen and I write a minimum of one quality post per day. Some days, depending on my curating (and gardening) schedule, Ill do two.

Quality somehow is very relative. We are being voted partly because we are closer to the community or we have avid supporter.

Well that makes this platform challenging.

I hope steem prices will start to pick up, hopefully soon.

I've snagged a few upvotes from whales in my time on here. The way I've done it? Consistent posting of high quality content.

I am also a new user. And with interest I read your instructions. Thank you.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

That has been a real challenge with a lot of the communities that I have joined. It is hard to get them motivated to stay even if you try to upvote them because they get cents for something that they really worked on.

I'm glad of what you are doing in welcoming them and giving them some insights.

Getting them to the communities and lifetime upvotes are very important to make them stay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40