Sort:  

All users on Steem want both. They want to be recognized for their work and earn a little extra income to have more influence on the community. I'm no different, I'm only human.

Memes have an interest in SteemIt and they have always been and always will be there. The question is why some users consider memes as low content. You can spit it out or sit down for 20 minutes and experiment until you have created a good meme. The same applies to posts. I can spit a little in five minutes, but I can also sit on it for six hours. Accordingly, the payout will also develop in a fair community. Should the meme get 20$, other posts get 1000$.

Memes still need creativity and skills to make them good. And the artist should also be rewarded for this. I like to look at memes at them talking to me, so they should also be rewarded. The same applies to posts that entertain me or impart new knowledge to me. The community decides what is good or bad.

Memes are a comical strip that, of course, could take hours to make or seconds to make. The only person in real life who can make money making memes, would be someone who was paid to come up with a meme (likely with the intent of using it as a marketing tool).

The fact that you use bidbots "because you have to" is conflicting to me because you dont have to create the meme to make money. You can just do your job (which admittedly, i dont know what it is). Why not just make the meme because you like making memes and sharing it? If steem didnt exist, would you still make memes? Where would you post them? how much do you think its worth? Why do you think its worth that much? Aren't you effectively "taking" from the rewards pool forcefully?

I dont think artist deserve to be rewarded for their work. Their reward is their own satisfaction of creating the piece. Thats the point of art. Everything else thats done for money isn't art. It's diluted by alternative intent.

If you really wanted to invest in your content and on the platform, why not invest real money into the network? How much of your own income have you pushed into this (if you truely believe in your own content has some type of value on this network).

None of these are attacking questions, they are just aggressive probing because you're one of the few people who are actually interacting and I think that creates a ton of value on this network).

The fact that you use bidbots "because you have to" is conflicting to me because you dont have to create the meme to make money.

I had to use them to get upvotes from dmania. The algorithm how it was forces you to be be in their hot/trending to be able to get them. Unfortunally it was impossible to stay there for a few hours until the bot votes, because other people using upvotebots didnt give you a chance. My goal was to get a few of the upvotes because compared to the other memes that got selected I was compeditive with my memes.

You can just do your job (which admittedly, i dont know what it is)

Just a poor mechanical engineer student

Why not just make the meme because you like making memes and sharing it? If steem didnt exist, would you still make memes? Where would you post them? how much do you think its worth? Why do you think its worth that much? Aren't you effectively "taking" from the rewards pool forcefully?

I was posting on a regular base at 9gag until I saw steemit the first time and their memesection (before dMania). I made memes and shared them because I wanted to I was many times at the hotpage of 9gag. They are worth what the community things it is. I cant tell you a number but they payout should not really exceed 10$ in my opinion, because everything above is out of all proportion in my opinion. If people think they are worth more, they should start a company that makes memes for marketing purpose or something like that.

I dont think artist deserve to be rewarded for their work. Their reward is their own satisfaction of creating the piece. Thats the point of art. Everything else thats done for money isn't art. It's diluted by alternative intent.

Money is not the main reason for me but it is nice when someone still upvotes them. I am not on SteemIt because I think I will get rich with making memes. It is just a small sideeffect. Let's call it an additional hobby.

If you really wanted to invest in your content and on the platform, why not invest real money into the network?

I did. Not sure how much but something about 400 Steem I guess. And I am not powering down and also reinvesting my SBD to STEEM because I still want more influence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48