MORE THAN 100 DAYS ON STEEMIT: THE CHALLENGES SO FAR (PART 2)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steemit isn’t really paying. The challenges are tough. The frustration is becoming worse by the day. I have been on steemit for over a 100 days and I can beat my chest and say that it has not been all smooth.

Hi there, my name is Great Morgan and I can tell you that I feel pretty much frustrated while typing the post. I decided to give a brief story on my journey here on steemit. While steemit has been fun and enlightening for me, I must confess that I have had my own share of its frustrations. I wouldn’t say posting on steemit or steemit itself is my major challenge or frustration but during the course of this post, you will find out what exactly are the things that burdens me.

AM I BEING HEARD?
One of my greatest dreams for the year is to be a consistent leader here on steemit. Being a leader in the sense that I earnestly wish to have a voice that is heard or noticed here on steemit. I’m in no way saying that I want to boss over people or be like a king here LOL but I believe that almost everyone here wishes to posts things that people would read and gain knowledge or inspiration from the information that is being shared. Just like everyone out there, I also wish to post things and not only earn from it but also impact lives through it.

What is my current case in reality? Well, I have had my good days and bad days. I have had days where I created content that came out straight from my heart and put so much work into it, but like a typical Nigerian would say “Nothing comot” (I didn’t gain much). I think the real issue here is that almost everyone wants to be a leader. Truth be told, the average steemian doesn’t just come online to read other people’s post and contribute to it. Majority of people here are just concerned about how they can post their stuffs and get rewarded for it. I can confess that I was a bit guilty of this but things started changing when I began to focus on reading other people’s posts and learning one or two things from them.

The real challenge here is having a voice that stands out. Some tags we use most times in our posts determine how much we will be heard. Imagine having to drop a post within a tag or niche that gets like 3 new posts every second or minute. The unconscious competition to be heard on steemit is high and it takes special writing skills or luck to have random people connect with your posts and contribute things from the heart especially when you’re a minnow or you are just few days in the steem block chain.

LOW UP-VOTES? ARRGH
Hahahaha! As a minnow or newbie, the issue of low up-votes or payouts can terminate your joy LOL. I was having a discussion with some friends some days and told them that one of the causes of frustration from low payout or up-votes is that fact that we actually watch others or close ones who earn bigger on the same platform.

As a newbie, the fastest way to keep frustrating yourself is to keep looking at how much people are earning from the Trending or Hot category on steemit. It is good though to know what is possible to earn from steemit but you might find it very discouraging to see others post within an hour or less and make hundreds of dollars and some even grossing over a thousand on the Trending topics/post section.

This was one of my challenges too. Having high expectations in life could be a really good thing but when it comes to just starting out on steemit, I don’t even know if I should say it is bad to have high expectations here. Having high expectations as a newbie here kinda made me discouraged on within my first few weeks. I was always feeling bad and asking myself when my time would come to start earning in tens and hundreds of steem dollars. I was always wondering what the magic trick would be that I would have to pull in order to start earning big too on steemit.

After my last 100 days here, LOL steemit has humbled me. I now understand that those that earn big either joined the platform when it was early or they invested their money into buying steem, steem power and other steem blockchain related assets or they are just people who had spent days and nights being consistent here and dropping quality and useful content.

I have learnt so far that being part of an active community and being present on the steemit would help build the reputation and experience needed to earn very well. I have also learnt that patience is the key, but the ability to sight opportunities is a bigger key here on steemit.

In all things, most times earning big from steemit could be as a result of pure luck especially when a whale decides to visit.

Thank you for staying with me to the end of this post. Everything I have typed here is straight from my heart. The purpose I write this is to share my experience on steemit after my first 100 days. As much as I looking forward to my next 100 days here, I really wish my fellow minnows and newbie(s) here on the platform would be willing to persevere because steemit is not as easy as they might think. I am still trying my best to understand the code of How steemit works and my biggest goal for the year is that as soon as I break the code, I will come back and inspire minnows by instructing and teaching them the best way to go about this. I remain your favourite steemian @morgangreat

#MorganDaily
#100daysOnSteemit

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66