Steemit, Best Thing Since Grilled Cheese

in #steemit8 years ago

Something crazy happened to me the other day.

I got a phone call from my friend telling me to check my account. He was jumping up and down telling me, "you won't have to work a day again in your life". I was shocked, I kept imagining how much could my post really make.

I imagined another person's post which had brought in a thousand dollars.

The girl was so shocked and excited she took a picture of herself smiling at the camera and wrote about the post that had changed her life. Or so she thought, ironically, that follow up post was worth $8000. You can imagine the sequel to that one.

Finally I decided to open my wallet biting my nails with anticipation.

I began imagining my future plans, my hopes and dreams of traveling the world. My goal of one day traveling to different parts of the world and writing about my experiences. All the while having an audience that listens, doesn't judge, and in the end even rewards you with something that keeps your dream going.

I imagined a trip to Turkey, writing about the failed coup and taking selfies next to tanks. I imagined taking a trip to south east Asia and eating fried crickets (they're like fries except a bit crispier). Thoughts began racing through my head.

Moment of Truth

I opened my wallet to find my post had brought in $3. I thing a few zeroes might have fallen off. Maybe I got hacked. I called my friend, all he had to say was, "just kidding dude".

No Worries

I'm not one to let my dreams just die. On the plus side there are so many places you can get by with a few dollars a day. I pushed through, optimism in my eyes. Waiting slowly for my payout and having a nice chat with my audience. A few hours later and the $3 turned into $2, then $1.

Maybe I should reconsider those Ukranian models. $30 for holding a sign with the words Steemit over it goes a long way I hear.

Keep Steemin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51