Wtf Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

So it looks like I am not a good community member or I am some how a spammer. I have invested hundreds of € into my steemit account which I transferred from a trading account I have. When I transferred this cash to the Steem blockchain via steemit my account was worth approx $800. That value has steadily decreased over the last few months to a miserable $160. Now I and many others are being penalized for not investing enough in the platform. It seems to me that this type of measure will only benefit bigger fish and punish the minnows who are starting out. In this postby @randyw he details how you can view your current status. It is a waiting game to recharge or stump up more of your cash.

I would love to hear you thoughts on this new system.

All images unless otherwise sourced and noted as such are my own. Sourced images are clickable to show their source. My own images are typically taken with my HTC ONE.

LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Sort:  

It’s a shame! My husband and I were just talking about how discouraging this is to new steemians and will eventually push them away. This is a lose lose for everyone. Somebody needs to resolve the issue soon because steemit’s success as a platform hinges on it.

A few days ago I came across a brand new account that just put up their introduce yourself post and an additional recipe post. The recipe content and quality was quite impressive to me so I went to check her out. When I got to her page I realized that she probably couldn’t respond back to her comments or engage very much at all so sponsored her a few SP in hopes that she won’t leave the platform. This isn’t sustainable to do with each new account and frankly if you don’t have the RC problem then it’s actually quite difficult to know what others can or cannot do.

Kudos for sending her some SP, and no, it isn't sustainable to do, nor does it help smaller accounts engage a lot, however, they can engage at some level. It's a matter of being persistence, but there needs to be enough incentive and positive user experience from the get go. Don't seem to be any easy answers here, but there are a lot of people wanting to help and contributing to the evolution of the blockchain. Glad to see you're one of them. :)

Thanks @puravidaville and @katrina-ariel, I am just going to do the one reply as I am still recharging and man it takes an age. Guess I'll have to build up that SP. I realize the measures will stop spammers to a certain degree, although I do feel that it will limit the interaction that you can have with people how take the time to read and comment on your posts.

Have a great weekend guys.

When the hardfork happened it felt like forever for everyone's RCs to recharge. I hear you. But if you keep an eye on them once they're up, and just stay consistent, I'm sure you'll get that SP up and soon you'll have enough that RCs won't be an issue. That said, I hope they figure out a way to help users with less SP so they don't feel discouraged, as I feel this platform has so much to offer. You have a great weekend too! :)

I agree with you too @moonunit. It must be really discouraging to not be able to respond when you want to. I don’t know what the answer is but hopefully as a community we will see more people lending a helping hand to new accounts. Happy weekend to you too!

Thanks @katrina-ariel. You’re absolutely right, there needs to be a positive user experience from the get go. I’m just afraid that those who can not use as much as they’d like to will get discouraged and fall out. This is not a good scenario for any of us. All I can do is continue to try and support as much as possible in hopes that some light will shed quickly. Thanks for the response :)

It's an imperfect system, for sure. I don't think you're a spammer and I don't think that's being implied at all. The RC thing takes a bit of getting used to, and building up over time. When you have more SP it isn't an issue, however, that doesn't help you right now. I remember being surprised when I ran into bandwidth issues as a redfish. Was frustrating, for sure, but I stepped away, got some stuff done, and came back when it recharged. I hope things get easier for you from here on out, and that Steem starts rising again. Just a matter of time. Stick with it. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Moonunit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I had this the other day! Just getting used to blogging and commenting, and BAM! Thankfully, I was saved by a welcoming wagon that just happened to be going in the same direction as me. ;)

Hey @juliamulcahy, it is totally true. I had been offline for a few months so this was all new to me. Glad to hear you got sorted. There are some really good folks on here and on whaleshares too. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98