You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where does steemit gets money to pay content creators?

in #steemit7 years ago

My other concern is that do we have a limited supply of steem? From what I have read we have a definit amount of bitcoin. Though I would prefer steem be limited, I am concerned that how will steemit generate steem to pay content creators if we have reached its maximum supply?

Sort:  

Each day new steem is created at a rate that has to do with the current price and math I can't explain, but when the price is up the rewards pool slowly follows along the price trend, (Average of 30 days of price.) The new steem each day is distributed by voting shares. (That where the rewards come from)

After some amount of time, I really can't remember they will stop creating new steem. It is "down the road" though. (They used to say 3 years, but I don't know the current date)

In the meantime, other projects and opportunities may develop for future rewards, but it is speculation at this point.

Your explanation make me pessimistic about the future of steemit. If they don't have a plan/project right now, it may may possible that they are unable to come up with a viable one. I believe they only created this platform with the aim of artificially increasing the demand for steem.
Is the creator of steemit and steem the same?

I don't think it is a pessimistic future, in 9 months of simple blogging, I have earned, saved and invested about $7k or so, (depending on price) We have more end users, sign-ups are up, usage is up. Every indication is by trial or error this is going to take off.

I don't know what the future brings, but we have great tech, a good community and several other projects being started on the block chain.

The platform is growing and the company responds to problems. So, if the speculation value of Steem starts to fail, I am sure they will take measures to create an income streem, trading and businesses with earning potential will be build on the blockchain. There is even an opportunity to consider advertizing revenue in the future. The more users we have the more opportunity we have. Everything in Crypto is pretty much speculation.

If you need a mapped out opportunity, it will be difficult to find in crypto in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50